UCLA Molecular Biology Institute Legacy Award

Posted on

MBI Awards Dinner small

Professor David Eisenberg was awarded the Legacy Award at the 2nd Annual UCLA Molecular Biology Institute (MBI) Awards Dinner on November 12th.

The Legacy Award honors outstanding MBI faculty mentors who have worked to inspire, encourage and guide the next generation of scientists and thought leaders.

Professor Eisenberg is a Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and of Biological Chemistry, an HHMI investigator, and the inaugural Chair Holder of the Paul D. Boyer Professorship in Molecular Biology Biochemistry. He served as director of the UCLA-DOE Institute for Genomics and Proteomics from 1993 to 2014.  

Nobel Laureate and founding MBI Director Paul D. Boyer and Lyda Boyer attended the event which was held at the UCLA Hershey Hall Grand Salon.

Also honored at the event was Dr. Sid Suggs, Distinguished Research Scientist for Amgen, Inc., who was presented the Catalyst Award which is given to MBI alumni who have made significant contributions to their fields of study and accelerated the advancement of science.  MBIDP graduate student Oscar Campos, a member of Professor Siavash Kurdistani Group’s group in Biological Chemistry, was the featured graduate student at the event.

MBI%20Awards%20Dinner%202015 258
Professor David Eisenberg was presented the Legacy Award by MBI Director Professor Luisa Iruela-Arispe.

MBI%20Awards%20Dinner%202015 157 0
Left to right: Lyda Boyer, Professor Paul Boyer, and Lucy Eisenberg.

MBI%20Awards%20Dinner%202015 143 0
Members of Prof. Eisenberg’s group pose for a photo at the event (left to right): Dr. Nicole Wheatley, Dr. Alice Soragni, Dr. Lorena Saelices, Jeannette Bowler, Dr. Rebecca Nelson, Pascal Krotee, Prof. David Eisenberg, Elizabeth Guenther, Sarah Griner, Shannon Essewein, and assistant Cindy Chau.

  MBI%20Awards%20Dinner%202015 064 1

Left to right: Professor Sabeeha Merchant (Chemistry & Biochemistry),  Professor Edward De Robertis and Ana De Robertis (Biological Chemistry).

Photos by Reed Hutchinson.