UC President Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings Fellow

Posted on

Jamieson Cooper 2022

Alumnus Cooper Jamieson (PhD ’21, Houk/Tang groups) has been selected to participate in the 71st Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in June 2022. 

Jamieson was selected as one of the 600 most qualified young scientists who will get the opportunity to experience and contribute to the unique atmosphere of this years’ Lindau Meeting.

The Lindau Nobel Laureate fellows were chosen in a multi-step process that required an essay, letters of recommendation, an evaluation of their research accomplishments, and approval by the Lindau Meetings organization in Germany. A work group of UC administrators and faculty winnowed down the list of candidates, which was then approved by the UC President Michael V. Drake and UC Chief Investment Officer Jagdeep Singh Bachher, who conceived of the fellowships after having attended the Lindau Meetings himself.

Jamieson received his Ph.D. in chemistry at UCLA in 2021 under the direction of Professor Kendall N. Houk and Professor Yi Tang. His dissertation covered pericyclic reactions – like the Diels–Alder reaction – in nature. Jamieson received the Royal Society of Chemistry Horizon Prize, Saul & Sylvia Winstein Dissertation Award, the UCLA Graduate Education Dissertation Year Fellowship, Senior Foote Graduate Fellowship, Saul Winstein Fellowship, Michael E. Jung Excellence in Teaching Award and the Don C. Atkins Excellence in Research Award. 

“I enjoy working with Cooper not only for his fabulous scientific productivity, but for his unique, shall I say artistic, approach to life and science – he is an accomplished practicing artist too! He will add a lot of life to the Lindau meeting,” said co-advisor Professor Ken Houk.

Before arriving at UCLA, Jamieson worked in art conservation at the Chinati Foundation in Marfa, Texas. There he assisted in the fabrication of the permanent installation untitled (dawn to dusk) by Robert Irwin as well as worked as an assistant to artists like Jeff Elrod and Zoe Leonard. 

After the Lindau meeting, Cooper will begin a NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award at the California Institute of Technology with Professor Frances H. Arnold.

Penny Jennings, UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, penny@chem.ucla.edu.