ACS 2015 National Awards

Posted on

acs 0

Professors Miguel Garcia-Garibay, Neil Garg, and Paul Weiss have been selected for the ACS 2015 National Awards.

Arthur C. Cope Scholar Awards
Professors Garcia-Garibay and Garg have been selected for the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Awards.  The Cope Scholar Awards recognizes and encourages excellence in organic chemistry. It was established in 1984 by the ACS Board of Directors, on recommendation of the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry, under the terms of the will of Arthur C. Cope. The Cope Scholar Awards are supported by income from the Arthur C. Cope Fund, which is administered by the ACS. The award consists of $5,000, a certificate, and a $40,000 unrestricted research grant to be assigned by the recipient to any university or nonprofit institution. The recipients will to deliver an awards address at the Arthur C. Cope Symposium.  

It is rare and amazing achievement to have two Cope Scholar Award winners in one department during the same year.  Nine current and former UCLA faculty have now received the award.  The nine faculty are:

1988   Kendall N. Houk

1992   Francois N. Diederich

1993   Fred Wudl

1994   Christopher S. Foote

1995   Michael E. Jung

1999   J. Fraser Stoddart

2012   Yi Tang

2015   Miguel Garcia-Garibay

2015   Neil Garg

Miguel Garcia-Garibay, Neil Garg, and Paul Weiss

ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry

Professor Paul Weiss was selected for the ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry, which recognizes and encourages outstanding scientific contributions to colloid and/or surface chemistry in North America. The ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry was established in 1952 and supported until 1993 by the Kendall Co. The Procter & Gamble Co. sponsored the award from 1994 to 2013, and Colgate-Palmolive Company began sponsorship in 2014. The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. The award will be honored at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 24, 2015, in conjunction with the 249th ACS National Meeting in Denver, CO.

Previous UCLA winners include:

1980  Howard Reiss

2002  Charles M. Knobler

The full announcement of all of the ACS 2015 National Award Winners is available here.