2018 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award

Posted on

Maynard Heather small 0

Professor Heather Maynard is one of ten organic chemists to be selected for the Arthur C Cope Scholar Award by the American Chemical Society (ACS). 

Arthur C. Cope Scholars Award recipients will be honored in August 2018 at the fall ACS national meeting in Boston where Maynard will deliver an award address.  

Maynard is a professor of organic chemistry at UCLA, Director of the Chemistry Biology Interface Training Program, and Associate Director of Technology and Development for the California NanoSystems Institute. She has been selected as an Outstanding Emerging Investigator by the Journal of Materials Chemistry and has received the Amgen New Faculty Award, Seaborg Award, NSF Career Award, Seaborg Award for Outstanding Research, the Hanson-Dow Award for Excellence in Teaching, an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, and the Herbert Newby Award for Outstanding Research at UCLA. Maynard is an ACS POLY, ACS PMSE, Leverhulme, Kavli Frontiers, and Royal Society of Chemistry Fellow, was a Fulbright Specialist in New Zealand in 2017, and is currently a member of the US Defense Science Study Group. 

The Cope Scholar Awards recognizes and encourages excellence in organic chemistry.  It was established in 1984 by the ACS Board of Directors, on recommendation of the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry, under the terms of the will of Arthur C. Cope. 

Other UCLA chemistry and biochemistry faculty who have received the Arthur C. Cope Scholar award are Kendall N. Houk (1988), Fred Wudl (1993), Christopher S. Foote (1994), Michael E. Jung (1995), J. Fraser Stoddart (1999), Yi Tang (2012) and Miguel García-Garibay and Neil Garg (2015).

To learn more about Maynard’s research, visit her group’s website.

The news was reported on by UCLA Newsroom on August 30, 2017.