Neil Garg wins the 2016 Thieme–IUPAC Prize

Posted on

NeilGarg small

Professor Neil Garg has been selected to receive the 2016 Thieme–IUPAC Prize.                          

The Thieme–IUPAC Prize is presented every two years on the occasion of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry – International Conference on Organic Synthesis (IUPAC–ICOS).  The prize is awarded to a scientist under 40 years of age whose research has had a major impact in synthetic organic chemistry.  

The Thieme–IUPAC Prize has previously been awarded to Stuart L. Schreiber in 1992, Paul Knochel in 1994, Eric N. Jacobsen in 1996, Andrew G. Myers in 1998, Alois Fürstner in 2000, Erick M. Carreira in 2002, John F. Hartwig in 2004, David W. C. MacMillan in 2006, F. Dean Toste in 2008, Phil S. Baran in 2010, Melanie S. Sanford in 2012, and Martin D. Burke in 2014.

The € 5000 prize will be presented to Garg at his Award Lecture at ICOS 2016, which will be held in Mumbai, India, from December 11-16, 2016.

Click here for more information about the award.

The news was reported on by UCLA Newsroom.

For more information about Prof. Garg’s research visit his group’s website.