Kaner elected to the European Academy of Sciences and Arts

Posted on

Kaner Richard 2018 small 5 0

Professor Richard Kaner has been elected to the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.

As part of the Technical and Environmental Sciences class, Kaner will contribute his research and expertise on conducting polymers, separation membranes, superhard materials, new forms of carbon and energy storage devices.

The Academy is a non-governmental, European association committed to promoting scientific and societal progress, and its members are elected for their outstanding achievements in science, arts, and governance. Members include over 2,000 leading scientists and artists dedicated to innovative research and the exchange of knowledge. Among them are 34 Nobel Prize winners.

Academy scholars are divided into eight classes: Humanities; Medicine; Arts; Natural Sciences; Social Sciences, Law and Economics; Technical and Environmental Sciences; World Religions; and Corporate and Public Governance.

The Dr. Myung Ki Hong Professor of Materials Innovation, and a distinguished professor of chemistry and biochemistry, and of materials science and engineering, Professor Richard Kaner is among the world’s most influential and highly cited scientific researchers. His awards and honors include the 2022 ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science, the Qian Baojun Fiber Award (Distinguished Achievement), election as a 2021 NAI Fellow by the National Academy of Inventors, and election as a 2020 Fellow of the American Physical Society. Kaner was selected as for the American Institute of Chemists 2019 Chemical Pioneer Award, which honors chemists and chemical engineers who have made outstanding contributions that advance the science of chemistry or greatly impact the chemical profession. He is a member of the California NanoSystems Institute at UCLA and the UCLA Institute for Carbon Management. 

Kaner and his research team have designed a series of remarkable materials. These include creating a membrane that separates oil from water and cleans up the debris left by oil fracking and scaling up a single layer of carbon known as graphene for use in energy storage devices. His research spans a wide range of topics within materials science and inorganic chemistry.

Other UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry Academy members are Professors Ken Houk, Michael Jung, and Raphael Levine.

Penny Jennings, UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, penny@chem.ucla.edu.