IEEE Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology

Posted on

Prof. Xiangfeng Duan

Professor Xiangfeng Duan has been chosen for the 2023 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology “for pioneering contribution to the synthesis and integration of nanoscale materials and devices, especially van der Waals heterostructures and devices.”

The IEEE Pioneer Award recognizes individuals who have had a significant impact on the field of nanotechnology by virtue of initiating new areas of research, development or engineering. The IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization for the advancement of technology.

Duan will receive the award at the 23rd IEEE International Conference on Nanotechnology in Jeju Island Korea, July 2-5, 2023.

Duan joined the chemistry and biochemistry faculty in 2008. His group’s research interests include nanoscale materials, devices and their applications in future electronics, energy technologies and biomedical science. Duan recently received the department’s prestigious 2022 McCoy Award, which recognizes the researchers in the department who have made the greatest contribution of the year to the science of chemistry and biochemistry.

Professor Paul Weiss received the IEEE Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology award in 2019.

Penny Jennings, UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry,