Celebrating newly tenured faculty

Posted on

Tenure Party16 small

Members of the department gathered to celebrate the recent promotion and tenure of Professors Louis Bouchard, Margot Quinlan and Jorge Torres.

In her toast to the honorees at the July 11th event, Department Chair Prof. Catherine Clarke said of the group, “Each earned tenure with their impressive and distinguished records of research, teaching and service. We are so proud of you! We know we are lucky to have you.” Research group members of each of the newly tenured faculty joined the celebration to honor their advisors.

In honor of their accomplishments, each week in July we will feature a profile of one of the newly tenured faculty, starting this week with Louis Bouchard

DSC 4261

(From left) Dean of the Division of Physical Sciences Miguel Garcia-Garibay with newly tenured faculty Profs. Louis Bouchard, Margot Quinlan, Jorge Torres and Department Chair Prof. Catherine Clarke.

Tenure Party16 1

(From left) Chair Clarke toasts the newly tenured faculty. Torres and Quinlan listen to Clarke’s remarks.

Tenure Party16 2

(From left) Profs. Al Courey, Bouchard, Senior Lecturer Laurence Lavelle, Paul Weiss and Heather Maynard.

Tenure Party16 3

(From left) Profs. Bill Gelbart, Emil Reisler, Bouchard, Ben Schwartz and Sri Kosuri.

DSC 4272

Members of the Bouchard group at the celebration (from left) Luke Verlinsky, Michael Lake, Jeff McCormick, Prof. Louis Bouchard, Nanette Jarenwattananon, Ying Yang, and Ezgi Kisa.  

DSC 4271

Members of the Quinlan group (from left) Aanard Patel, Emma Carley, Kathryn Bremer, Jeff Wang, Prof. Margot Quinlan, Alex Bradley, Joe Walsh, and William Silkworth.

DSC 4266

Members of the Torres group (from left) Keith Cheung, Kevin Clutario, Joseph Ong, Ankur Gholkar, Prof. Jorge Torres, Mai Abdusamad, Haily Kil, and Ivan Ramirez.

Photos by Penny Jennings/UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry