2023 OMCOS Prize Winner

Posted on

Prof. Abigail Doyle

Professor Abigail Doyle has been chosen the winner of the prestigious 2023 OMCOS Award.

The OMCOS Award was established to recognize an early-to-mid career scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of organometallic chemistry and organic synthesis.

This award is presented at each International Symposium on Organometallic Chemistry Directed Towards Organic Synthesis. Doyle will deliver a plenary lecture during the conference, which is the week of July 24 – 28, 2023, in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Doyle received her A.B. and A.M. summa cum laude in Chemistry and Chemical Biology from Harvard University in 2002 and her Ph.D. from the same department in 2008. Professor Doyle began her independent academic career in the Department of Chemistry at Princeton University in 2008. In 2021, she moved to UCLA as the Saul Winstein Chair in Organic Chemistry. 

The Doyle lab conducts research at the interface of organic, organometallic, physical organic, and computational chemistry. Their goal is to address unsolved problems in organic synthesis through the development of catalysts, catalytic reactions, and synthetic methods. They apply mechanistic and computer-assisted techniques to the analysis of these reactions to uncover general principles that can guide the design of improved catalysts and the discovery of new reactions.

Prof. Doyle’s awards and honors include Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Machine Learning in the Chemical Sciences and Engineering Award (2021), American Chemical Society Fellow (2020), RSC Fluorine Award (2019), 15th Hirata Prize (2019), BMS Unrestricted Grant in Synthetic Organic Chemistry (2016), Phi Lambda Upsilon National Fresenius Award (2014), Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (2014), Novartis Chemistry Lectureship (2014/2015), Bayer Excellence in Science Award (2013), Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (2013), Camille-Dreyfus Teacher Scholar Award (2013),  Amgen Young Investigator Award (2012),  Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship (2012) and NSF CAREER Award (2012-2017).

Penny Jennings, UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, penny@chem.ucla.edu.