2020 Organic Graduate Symposium

Posted on


This year’s annual Organic Graduate Symposium on Friday, June 12, 2020, featured online research talks by 13 chemistry graduate students, and two alums. 

The annual Organic Graduate Symposium provides a forum for organic chemistry graduate students, who are within one year of obtaining their Ph.D., to present their dissertation research at UCLA to their peers, researchers, and faculty. Every year the symposium is open to everyone in the department and to the friends and families of the presenters. Each student speaker was introduced by either a faculty member or a member of his or her lab. Thirteen of the presenters graduated this quarter and were honored in the department’s virtual graduation celebration and two presenters received their Ph.D.s in 2019.

Research talks were presented by Alex Bagdasarian (Nelson group), Katherine Bay (Houk group), Maly Cosco (Sletten group), Jacob Dander (Garg group), Jordan Dotson (García-Garibay/Garg groups), Kersti Haatveit (Houk group), Yolanda Li (Rubin group), Kathryn Messina (Maynard group), Emily Murzinski (Harran group), Ethan Rosser (Jung/Radu groups), Brian Shao (Nelson group), Andrew Smaligo (Kwon group), Robert Susick (Garg group), Kyle Tamshen (Maynard group), and Michael Yamano (Garg group). 

The event was chaired by Professor Yves Rubin and organized by Organic Divisional Assistant Julio Gonzalez.


Alex Bagdasarian (Ph.D. ’19, Hosea Nelson group)


Katherine Bay (Ph.D. ’20, Ken Houk group)

Maly Cosco (Ph.D. ’20, Ellen Sletten group) Dander

Jabob Dander (Ph.D. ’20, Neil Garg group)

Jordan Dotson (Ph.D. ’20, Neil Garg and Miguel Garcia-Garibay groups) Kersti

Kersti Caddell Haatveit (Ph.D. ’20, Ken Houk group)


Yolanda Li (Ph.D. ’20, Yves Rubin group)

Messina 0

Kathryn Messina (Ph.D. ’20, Heather Maynard group)


Emily Murzinski (Ph.D. ’20, Patrick Harran group)

Ethan Rosser (Ph.D. ’20, Michael Jung/Caius Radu groups) Shao

Brian Shao (Ph.D. ’19, Hosea Nelson group)


Andrew Smaligo (Ph.D. ’20, Ohyun Kwon group)


Robert Susick (Ph.D. ’20, Neil Garg group)

Kyle 0
Kyle Tamshen (Ph.D. ’20, Heather Maynard group) Yamano

Michael Yamano (Ph.D. ’20, Neil Garg group)

Screenshots by Julio Gonzalez.