2019 UCLA Research Showcase and Reception at ACS National Meeting

Posted on

C Blogo

On August 27, at the UCLA Research Showcase and Reception in San Diego, we will toast faculty and alumni who are being honored by the ACS. 

The 2019 UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry Research Showcase and Reception will take place from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m. at the San Diego Marriott Marquis. The event is part of the American Chemical Society (ACS) National Meeting & Expo “Chemistry and Water” being held in San Diego August 25 – 29. Please join us for this great opportunity to meet our faculty, students, and researchers to learn about the exciting research being conducted at UCLA. The event will include light refreshments and a poster session by 55 of our brightest postdoctoral researchers and graduate students showcasing their current research projects. The abstract booklet for the poster session can be viewed here (PDF). 

Everyone is welcome to attend the event and it is not necessary to be registered for the ACS meeting in order to attend. For more information, please contact Nikki Erinakis, Event Coordinator, UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, nikkie@chem.ucla.edu or (310) 206-4409.  

At the event, we will toast and congratulate the following UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry faculty and alumni in recognition of the achievements for which they are being honored by the ACS:

Maynard%2C%20Heather Small 2Professor Heather Maynard

, who holds UCLA’s Dr. Myung Ki Hong Endowed Chair in Polymer Science, will receive the American Chemical Society (ACS) 2019 Bioconjugate Chemistry Lectureship Award at the Bioconjugate Chemistry Lecturer Symposium on Tuesday, August 27 from 9:00 to 12:00 p.m. at the San Diego Manchester Grand Hyatt.  

Sletten Ellen 2018Professor Ellen Sletten, who holds UCLA’s John McTague Career Development Chair in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, has been named a 2019 ACS PMSE Young Investigator and, as part of the award, will present her work at the PMSE Young Investigator Symposium on Tuesday, August 27, from 11:00 to 11:30 a.m. at the San Diego Manchester Grand Hyatt.

MGGsmaller 0Fraser Stoddart SmallPhysical Sciences Dean Miguel García-Garibay


Professor Emeritus Sir Fraser Stoddart

 (Nobel Prize 2016) have been elected 2019 Fellows of the American Chemical Society. The 2019 ACS Fellows will be honored at a special ceremony on Monday, August 26 from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel.  
GargSmall2017 1Department Chair Professor Neil Garg, who hold’s UCLA’s Kenneth N. Trueblood Endowed Chair in Chemistry & Biochemistry, has been selected for the American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Organic Chemistry’s 2019 Leete Award. He will be honored at the August ACS national meeting in San Diego.

Stubbe SmallProfessor Joanne Stubbe (Postdoc, ‘71-72 Rebek), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been chosen for ACS’s highest honor, the 2020 Priestley medal. Stubbe will be honored by ACS’ magazine Chemical & Engineering News with an issue featuring an in-depth profile of Stubbe along with her Priestley Medal award address, which she will deliver at a future ACS national meeting. 

Professor Robert McMahonProfessor Robert McMahon (Ph.D. ’85 Chapman), University of Wisconsin-Madison, has been selected for a prestigious ACS 2019 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award. He will deliver an awards address at the Cope Award Symposium on Tuesday, August 27, from 8:10 to 8:45 a.m. at the San Diego Convention Center, Ballroom 20A. 

LAM1 300x266Professor Patrick Y-S. Lam (Postdoc, ’80-84 Jung/Cram), Blumberg Institute, is leading a symposium at the ACS Fall Meeting celebrating the 20th anniversary of the discovery of the Chan-Lam Reaction. He and his former postdoc advisor, Professor Michael Jung, will speak at the symposium which takes place on Sunday, August 25, from 8:30 am to 12:00 p.m. in Room 8, at the San Diego Convention Center.

Thanks to the generous support of our endowed chair holders and supporters of the department, the 55 poster presenters at the showcase each received $500 awards. The awards and the event are sponsored by Professors Neil Garg (Kenneth N. Trueblood Endowed Chair in Chemistry & Biochemistry), Ken Houk (Saul Winstein Chair in Organic Chemistry), Richard Kaner (Dr. Myung Ki Hong Endowed Chair in Materials Innovation), Heather Maynard (Myung Ki Hong Endowed Chair in Polymer Science), and Shimon Weiss (Dean Willard Chair in Chemistry) with additional support provided by the UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry Chair’s Office and donations from our generous alumni and friends of the department.

The UCLA Research Showcases at previous ACS conferences, in San Diego in 2016 and San Francisco in 2017, were very well-attended and we expect this year’s to be just as successful. 

Penny Jennings, UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, penny@chem.ucla.edu.