2018 William C. Rose Award

Posted on

Clarke Steven small 2017 44

Professor Steve Clarke has been awarded the 2018 William C Rose Award by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB).

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to biochemical and molecular biological research and a demonstrated commitment to the training of younger scientists.

Clarke joins two previous UCLA Rose Award winners – Nobel Laureate professor emeritus Paul Boyer received the 1989 prize and Professor William Wickner (Dartmouth Medical School), a former member of the Molecular Biology Institute and the UCLA Department of Biological Chemistry, was the recipient of last year’s award. Clarke will present his work at the 2018 ASBMB Annual Meeting in San Diego (April 21-25, 2018).

Clarke, a professor of biochemistry, is most known for his work on molecular damage and discoveries of novel molecular repair mechanisms. His research has focused on roles of novel protein methyltransferases in aging and biological regulation highlighted by discoveries of the protein repair L-isoaspartyl methyltransferase, the isoprenylcysteine protein methyltransferase, the protein phosphatase 2A methyltransferase, and members of the protein arginine methyltransferase family.   

To learn more about Clarke’s research, visit his group’s website

The news was featured in UCLA Newroom on August 25, 2017.