2017 Seaborg Symposium Photo Gallery

Posted on

Seaborg17 small 0

Photos from the 2017 Seaborg Symposium & Medal Award Dinner honoring Professor William Gelbart are now available for viewing.

The full photo gallery is available here. On Saturday, Nov. 18, 2017, Professor William Gelbart, UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, was honored by the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry with the 2017 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal. 

The 2017 Seaborg Symposium, titled “Viruses, from Self-Assembly to Vaccines,” took place at the California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI), with lectures by Professors William Gelbart, Avinoam Ben-Shaul (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Donald Hilvert (ETH Zurich), John (Jack) Johnson (Scripps), Anne Moscona (Columbia), and Z. Hong Zhou (UCLA). Professors Catherine Clarke, Charles Knobler, Ken Houk, Todd Yeates, Juli Feigon, and Sherie L. Morrison introduced the speakers. Seaborg%20Symposium%202017 532
(From left) At the Medal Award Dinner – symposium  speakers Donald Hilvert, Avinoam Ben-Shaul, William Gelbart, Anne Moscona, and John (Jack) Johnson. Not pictured is Z. Hong Zhou. Seaborg 17 PosterSessionMontage
Before the symposium, Chemistry and Biochemistry postdocs, graduate students, and undergraduate students participated in a poster session in the CNSI lobby.   The symposium was followed by a reception and dinner at UCLA’s Covel Commons Grand Horizon Ballroom. Professor and Chair Catherine Clarke welcomed the more than 200 guests. In addition to faculty, postdocs, and students, many alumni, donors, and friends of the department attended the evening’s events.   Seaborg%20Symposium%202017 385
(From left) Professor Beatriz E. Ruiz Silva, Dean Miguel Garcia-Garibay, friend of the department Ari Hirshberg, Director and Founder of the Hirshberg Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research, and Dr. Patricia Kerrigan, President and Founder of ThinkAgain!. Seaborg 17 Reception Montage
(From left) Chair Professor Catherine Clarke with Marion Peters, Librarian Emeritus, and her spouse UCLA alumnus Jonathan Mersel (Physics, M.S. ’77). (On the right) Graduate students Athena Cheung, Yuxin Pan, Liya Oster, and Mercedes Cornelius at the reception. Seaborg%20Symposium%202017 529
Five previous UCLA Chemistry and Biochemistry faculty Seaborg Medalists attended the dinner – (from left) Fred and Linda Wudl (2014), William Gelbart (2017), Joan Valentine (2008), and Mike Jung (2016). Not pictured is Ken Houk (2013). After dinner, Professor and Dean of the Division of Physical Sciences Miguel Garcia-Garibay gave an overview of the Division of Physical Sciences and introduced Professor Robin Garrell, Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Dean of the Graduate Division, who presented a slide show recapping the background and accomplishments of UCLA Alumnus Professor Glenn T. Seaborg, for whom the medal is named. Poster session judges Assistant Professor Ellen Sletten, Chong Liu, and Jose Rodriquez then announced the award winners, followed by the presentation of the 2017 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal to Gelbart by Dean Garcia-Garibay.  Seaborg 17 PosterSessionJudges
Poster session judges Assistant Professors Ellen Sletten, Chong Liu, and Jose Rodriquez announced the award winners at the Medal Dinner. Seaborg%20Symposium%202017 451
Poster session winners (from left) Matthew Ye (Undergraduate Student – Paul Weiss Group), Bryan Simmons
(Graduate Student – Neil Garg Group), Marco Messina (Graduate Student – Alexander Spokoyny Group), Dr. Francesco Manoni (Postdoc – Patrick Harran Group), Dr. Yan Jin (Postdoc – William Gelbart Group), Agape Awad (Graduate Student – Catherine Clarke Group). Seaborg%20Symposium%202017 491 0 Dean Garcia-Garibay presented the 2017 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal to Professor William Gelbart.  Seaborg%20Symposium%202017 517
Current and former Gelbart group members posed for a photo after the awards presentation. The department wishes to thank the generous support of the following donors whose donations made the Seaborg events possible: Gilead, Carolyn and Charles Knobler, Amgen, Janet and Paul Stannard, Bristol-Myers Squibb, as well as the many individuals who gave student dinner support.  To learn more about the Seaborg Symposium visit www.seaborg.ucla.edu.

Photos by Reed Hutchinson.