2013-2014 Beckman Scholars

Posted on

UCLA Undergrad 0

Chemistry & Biochemistry Undergraduates Avalon Dismukes (Kaner Group) and Alex Yeh (Houk Group) have been selected as 2013-2014 Beckman Scholars.  

The Beckman Research Scholarship is directed through the Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and administered by the URC-Sciences. These awards are made to outstanding research students who are majoring in Chemistry/Biochemistry, Microbiology or Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology (MCDB), who have a strong commitment to research, and who are committed to completing an honors thesis or a comprehensive 199 project during their senior year.

The students will be formally presented at the Beckman Scholars Reception, to be held in the afternoon of May 7, 2013 at UCLA Murphy Hall.

AvalonUCLAMove 092212 011%20%283%29  Yeh
Avalon Dismukes (Left) & Alex Yeh (Right)

The award total, $19,300, is distributed over one academic year and two summers, plus funds funds for travel and research supplies.

More information about the Beckman Scholars Program can be found here.