Distinguished Teaching Award

Posted on

Unknown 1

The UCLA Academic Senate’s Committee on Teaching has selected Professor Neil Garg as one of six campus-wide recipients of the 2014 Distinguished Teaching Award.

The goal of the UCLA Academic Senate Teaching Award is to increase awareness of UCLA’s leadership in teaching and public service by honoring individuals who bring respect and admiration to the scholarship of teaching.

By recognizing teachers for their achievements, the award gives parents, donors and others what makes UCLA “a beacon of excellence in higher education.” These awards are an effective way to boost morale on campus and provide role models for faculty and students.

Neil Garg (Center) with undergraduate students

In addition, the Committee particularly honored Professor Garg’s contribution to learning at UCLA by awarding him the “Eby Award for the Art of Teaching.”  The committee acknowledges Professor Garg’s selection as a tribute to the special excellence of his teaching and outstanding contributions to the collective pedagogy of our department and the university.

Professor Garg will receive his award at the annual Andrea L. Rich Night to Honor Teaching in the fall.

The UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry has a distinguished history of excellence in the education of students.  Please see the list below for all of our departmental winners of the UCLA Distinguished Teaching Award.