2024 ACS Frank H. Field and Joe L. Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry

Posted on

Prof. Joseph Loo

Professor Joseph Loo is the recipient of the ACS 2024 Frank H. Field and Joe L. Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry.

This national American Chemical Society (ACS) award, sponsored by the Waters Corp., recognizes “outstanding achievement in the development or application of mass spectrometry.” Loo will be honored at the ACS Spring 2024 national meeting.

An expert in the mass spectrometry characterization of the structures of proteins, protein complexes, and their post-translational modifications, and the application of proteomics for addressing questions in biology and medicine, Loo is a faculty member in the UCLA departments of Chemistry & Biochemistry and Biological Chemistry in the David Geffen School of Medicine.  He is also a member of UCLA/DOE Institute for Genomics and Proteomics and the UCLA Molecular Biology Institute.

Prior to UCLA, he led the biological mass spectrometry and proteomics teams at Parke-Davis Pharmaceutical (now Pfizer Global Research) in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and spent almost a decade at Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis/Pfizer before joining UCLA’s faculty. Currently, Loo is the Vice President for Programs for the American Society for Mass Spectrometry (ASMS), the world’s largest scientific society focused on mass spectrometry science. In mid-2024, he will take on the position of President of ASMS.

Penny Jennings, UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, penny@chem.ucla.edu.