2015 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Awards

Posted on

acs 0

Professors Miguel Garcia-Garibay & Neil Garg selected for 2015 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Awards.

Professors Garcia-Garibay and Neil Garg have been selected for the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Awards. The Cope Scholar Awards recognizes and encourages excellence in organic chemistry. It was established in 1984 by the American Chemical Society (ACS) Board of Directors, on recommendation of the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry, under the terms of the will of Arthur C. Cope. The Cope Scholar Awards are supported by income from the Arthur C. Cope Fund, which is administered by the ACS. The award consists of $5,000, a certificate, and a $40,000 unrestricted research grant to be assigned by the recipient to any university or nonprofit institution. The recipients will to deliver an awards address at the Arthur C. Cope Symposium.

Professor Miguel Garcia-Garibay (left) and Professor Neil Garg (right)

Excerpts from Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN): “Miguel Garcia-Garibay’s unique intellectual contributions and expertise in organic solid-state chemistry make him the undisputed leader in the field of solid-state organic chemistry,” says Timothy M. Swager, professor of chemistry at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

At UCLA, Garg beat more than a dozen topflight organic chemistry teams to N-methylwelwitindolinone C isothiocyanate, a molecule made by algae that chemists covet for both its densely functionalized structure and its anticancer activity. Those he bested include John L. Wood of Baylor University, who made Garg custom-etched glasses as a congratulatory gift. Garg’s synthesis was “a bombshell in the natural products community,” Wood says.

The full C&EN article can be read here.

More information about the UCLA faculty who have received ACS National Awards is available here.