Nov 27, 2013

The list of winners and photos from the 2013 Departmental Awards Ceremony are now available for viewing online.

UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry would like to congratulate all of the winners and extend a special thank you to the guests who were able to join us for the wonderful event on November 18, 2013.

AXE Bruce Merrifield Undergraduate Research Award: Seth Ahlquist & Christina Jayson
Hosmer Stone Prize for Excellence in General Chemistry: Shahriyar Jahanbakhsh
Christopher Foote Fellows: Jack Bracken, Hung Pham, Xin Hong, Pesach Perlin, Evan Styduhar 
  & Juno Van Valkenburgh
Ernest F. Hare, Jr., Memorial Scholarship for Research: Xing Zhong
Excellence in 2nd Year Academics & Research: Lingchao Cai, Henry Chan, Liana Hie
  & Udayabagya Halim
Faculty Award for Innovation in Inorganic Chemistry: Tania Guardado
George Gregory Research Award in Physical Chemistry: Rees Garmann
Hanson-Dow Teaching Assistant Awards: Paul Abukhalil, Christopher Arntsen, Christian Beren,
  Byron Boon, Vanessa Breslin, Michael Corsello, David Hsieh, Sedef Karabiyikoglu,
  Michael Lopez, Jeffrey McCormick, Jesus Moreno, Laura Saldarriaga, Ira Staehle, Nicholas Weires
  & Devon Widmer
Herbert Newby McCoy Award (Student Researcher): Thi (Kathy) Nguyen
John M. Jordan Memorial Award for Research in Biochemistry: Dan McNamara
John Stauffer Fellowship for Outstanding Research in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry: Adam Goetz
Majeti-Alapati Fellowship for Research in Organic Chemistry: Yi Chiao Fan
Norma Stoddart Prize (2013): Jessica Kramer
Ralph & Charlene Bauer Research Award for Research in Inorganic Chemistry: Shan Jiang
Roberts A. Smith Award for Research in Biochemistry: Huimin Zhang
Samson H. Cheng Biochemistry Teaching Award: Pak Kwong & Jung-Reem Woo
Hanson-Dow Award for Excellence in Teaching: Prof. Patrick Harran
Herbert Newby McCoy Award (Faculty): Prof. Heather Maynard
Herbert Newby McCoy Award (Researcher): Dr. Janette Kropat
Select photos from the ceremony are available below. The full photo album is can be viewed here. Photos by Penny Jennings.