Distinguished Lecture Series

The UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry Distinguished Lecture Series is a department-wide colloquium in a special week once per quarter when there are no other seminars in our department. Since beginning the series in 2013, we have invited some of the world’s most accomplished and engaging scientists to speak - Frances Arnold (Caltech), Barry Honig (Columbia), Nobel Laureate Roger Kornberg (Stanford), Harry Gray (Caltech), Francois Diederich (ETH Zurich), Yi Lu (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Sharon Hammes-Schiffer (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), JoAnne Stubbe (MIT), Douglas Rees (Caltech), Kimberly Prather (UCSD, Scripps), Jacqueline Barton (Caltech), Nobel Laureate Thomas Cech (University of Colorado, Boulder), and David Baker (University of Washington). Their lectures have consistently encouraged thought-provoking conversations and ideas.
The Spring 2018 Distinguished Lecture by Victoria Orphan, James Irvine Professor of Environmental Science and Geobiology at the California Institute of Technology, will take place on Friday, April 20, 2018, at 5:00 p.m. in the Young Hall CS50 lecture hall followed by a reception on the patio at 6:00 p.m. 
In lieu of a Fall 2018 Distinguished Lecture, George Whitesides, Woodford L. and Ann A. Flowers University Professor at Harvard University, will give the 2018 John D. Roberts Lecture on Thursday, Oct. 18, 2018 at 4 p.m. in the CNSI auditorium , followed by a piano tribute to Roberts by Prof. David Schuster (NYU). A reception and dinner will take place at the Faculty Center California patio and dining room.  More details about this event will be provided soon. 
The Winter 2019 Distinguished Lecture by Joanna Aizenberg, Amy Smith Berylson Professor of Materials Science and Professor of Chemistry & Chemical Biology at Harvard University, will take place on Wednesday, Jan. 23, 2019, at 4 p.m. in the CNSI auditorium followed by a reception in the lobby at 5:00 p.m.  
The lectures are open to the public. While the research covered in the lectures is meant to appeal to a broad range of chemists and biochemists, the lectures also include a general introduction to the research for those who are further separated in research expertise.
Questions about the Distinguished Lecture Series can be directed to Penny Jennings, penny@chem.ucla.edu, 310-825-9809.
Photos: (Top row) Ken Houk and Francois Diederich, Doug Rees, Paul Weiss and Kim Prather, Thomas Cech, Sabeeha Merchant and JoAnne Stubbe, Harry Gray and Joan Valentine. (Bottom row) Yi Lu, audience during Q&A, Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, David Baker, Jacqueline Barton, audience during Q&A.