2015 Seaborg Symposium Photo Gallery

Posted on

Seaborg small

Photos from the 2015 Seaborg Symposium & Medal Award Dinner honoring Prof. Stefan W. Hell are now available for viewing.

The full photo gallery is available here. On Monday, Oct. 19th, Nobel Laureate Professor Stefan W. Hell, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, was honored by the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry with the 2015 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal.

The 2015 Seaborg Symposium, titled “New Physico-Chemical Tools for New Biology”, took place at the California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI) auditorium with lectures by Professor Hell, Professor Carlos Bustamante (UC Berkeley), Professor Scott Fraser (University of Southern California), and Professor Shimon Weiss (UCLA).  

Before the symposium, chemistry and biochemistry postdocs, graduate students, and undergraduate students participated in a poster session in the CNSI lobby. The posters were judged by a group of junior faculty and the winners were announced at the evening banquet by Professor Bill Gelbart. Following the symposium there was a reception and dinner at UCLA’s Covel Commons. At the dinner, Professor and Chair Miguel Garcia-Garibay gave a welcome speech which was followed by a slide show presentation by Professor Ken Houk about Professor Glenn T. Seaborg, for whom the medal is named. Professor Shimon Weiss presented the 2015 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal to Professor Hell. In addition to faculty, postdocs and students, many alumni, donors, and friends of the department attended the evening events. Professor Hell was accompanied by his wife, Professor Anna Hell, and their four children. Special guests at the Seaborg medal dinner were alumni 1991 Seaborg Medalist Prof. Jack Roberts (CalTech) and 1992 Seaborg Medalist Dr. Ralph H. Bauer (Bauer Investments) and his wife Charlene Bauer.  
Seaborg15 6
(Left) Seaborg Symposium speakers Professor Carlos Bustamante (UC Berkeley), Professor Stefan Hell, Professor Scott Fraser (USC) and Professor Shimon Weiss (UCLA). (Right) Professor Hell poses with the Seaborg Medal with Professor Weiss and Professor Garcia-Garibay.

Seaborg15 1 0
(Left) Alumna Margaret Holzer, Professor and Chair Miguel Garcia-Garibay, alumni Atsuko Fujimoto and
Akira Fujimoto. (Right) Alumni Melville Sahyun, Irene Nordquist and Daniel Kimbell (Karish & Bjorgum, PC)
Seaborg15 2
(Left) Professor Craig Merlic, Professor Jennifer Merlic (Dean of Academic Affairs, Santa Monica College), Alice Jung, Professor Mike Jung. (Right) Dr. James Nerpel, Dr. Kolja Wawrowsky and Dr. Fred Nerpel from Leica Microsystems, a supporter of the 2015 Seaborg Symposium.
Seaborg15 3 0
(Left) Dr. Bruce Weiller (Aerospace Corporation), Professor Ric Kaner, his daughter Jolie Kaner, and Professor Tom Mason. (Right) Seaborg Symposium speaker Professor Carlos Bustamante (UC Berkeley), and Professor Juli Feigon.
Seaborg15 4
(Left) Chuck Li, Dr. Han Xu and Dr. Mike Bartberger (former Ken Houk postdoc) from Amgen, a valued supporter of the department. (Right) Jigar Gor, Maya Nag, Charlotte Xia and Sandy Chen from the Student Members of the American Chemical Society (SMACS).  Several students from SMACS volunteered at the symposium and reception.
Seaborg15 5
(Left) Graduate students Tejas Shah and Jose Medina (Garg Group) with Hannah Stone (UCLA Dentistry). (Right) Professor Stefan Hell, his wife Professor Anna Hell and their children.
To learn more about the 2015 Seaborg Symposium visit www.seaborg.ucla.edu. Photos by Reed Hutchinson.