Loading Events

2022 Seaborg Symposium & Medal Award Dinner

August 17, 2022 1:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Speaker Prof. Carolyn Bertozzi


For the event rsvp and details, please visit www.seaborg.ucla.edu/.  Registration is required for the event.

Prof. Carolyn Bertozzi

Prof. Carolyn Bertozzi will be the 2022 Seaborg Medalist.  She is the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Chemical & Systems Biology and Radiology (by courtesy) at Stanford University, and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. She completed her undergraduate degree in Chemistry from Harvard University in 1988 and her Ph.D. in Chemistry from UC Berkeley in 1993. After completing postdoctoral work at UCSF in the field of cellular immunology, she joined the UC Berkeley faculty in 1996. In June 2015 she joined the faculty at Stanford University, coincident with the launch of Stanford’s ChEM-H institute.

Bertozzi’s research interests span the disciplines of chemistry and biology with an emphasis on studies of cell surface glycosylation pertinent to disease states. Her lab focuses on profiling changes in cell surface glycosylation associated with cancer, inflammation and bacterial infection, and on exploiting this information for the development of diagnostic and therapeutic approaches, most recently in the area of immuno-oncology.

Bertozzi has been recognized with many honors and awards for both her research and teaching accomplishments. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Some awards of note include the 2022 Wolf Prize in Chemistry, the Lemelson-MIT award for inventors, Whistler Award, Ernst Schering Prize, MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award, and Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award of the Protein Society. Her efforts in undergraduate education have earned her the UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award and the Donald Sterling Noyce Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.