Dr. Anna Fisher
May 16, 2019
This year's UCLA College commencement speaker alumna Anna Fisher was recently profiled in The Washington Post.
Professor Ohyun Kwon
May 16, 2019
Professor Ohyun Kwon and her research group have invented a powerful new chemical reaction that potentially could reduce the cost of drug production. 
Professor Michael Jung
May 10, 2019
Professor Michael Jung has been named the UC Presidential Chair in Medicinal Chemistry, retroactive to July 1, 2018.
picture of leaf with CO2 written on it
May 9, 2019
Collaboration by Liu, Sletten teams leads to incorporation of perfluorocarbon emulsions into an electrochemical system for a microbial solution to CO2 fixation.
Matthew Ye
May 9, 2019
Undergraduate researcher senior Matthew Ye (Paul Weiss group) has been selected to receive the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry 2019 Undergraduate Award.
Michael Varney
May 9, 2019
Alumnus Michael Varney ’80 has been selected for the 2019 UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry Alumni Award. 
Katharine K.J. Winchell
May 8, 2019
Graduate student Katharine “KJ” Winchell (Sarah Tolbert group) has been selected for the 2019 Distinguished Teaching Award for Teaching Assistants.
Prof. Francois Diederich
May 8, 2019
UCLA postdoc alum and former faculty member Professor François Diederich (ETH Zurich) returned to UCLA on April 18 to give the 2019 Orville L Chapman Lecture.
Dr. Eric Scerri
Apr 30, 2019
UCLA chemistry lecturer and author Eric Scerri discusses his passion for the periodic table in new UCLA College video.
Professor Emily Carter
Apr 29, 2019
Former chemistry & biochemistry faculty member Emily Carter has been named UCLA's new executive vice chancellor & provost, effective September 1. 
Abby Thurm
Apr 29, 2019
3rd year biochemistry undergraduate researcher Abby Thurm (Gelbart/Knobler group) is one of three UCLA students to be named Goldwater Scholars in 2019. 
Dr. Jim Tsay
Apr 26, 2019
Alumnus Dr Shyr-Jin “Jim” Tsay (PhD ’77) was honored with the 2019 Alumni Legacy Award at the Departmental Awards Ceremony on April 22nd.
Professor Zhenan Bao
Apr 26, 2019
Professor Zhenan Bao (Stanford) visited UCLA on Wednesday, April 17, 2019, to give the Spring 2019 Distinguished Lecture.
Professors Jose Rodriguez and Hosea Nelson with their awards
Apr 25, 2019
We celebrated the many accomplishments of our faculty, postdocs, students, staff, and alumni at our annual departmental awards ceremony on April 22, 2019.
Professor Heather Maynard
Apr 23, 2019
Professor Heather Maynard has been chosen as the recipient of the American Chemical Society (ACS) 2019 Bioconjugate Chemistry Lectureship Award. 
Dr. Laurence Lavelle
Apr 23, 2019
Popular instructor Laurence Lavelle has been elected by UCLA’s Mortar Board Agathai chapter as the 2019 UCLA Mortar Board Honorary Member.
Hannah Bailey
Apr 23, 2019
Graduate student Hannah Bailey (Quinlan group) has been awarded a Pauley Fellowship by the UCLA College of Letters and Sciences, Division of Physical Sciences. 
ugrad in lab with mentor
Apr 22, 2019
Thanks to our generous donors, 35 undergraduate students will conduct research in our faculty labs this year as summer research fellows.
Jesus Iñiguez
Apr 19, 2019
PhD student Jesus Iñiguez (Chong Liu group) has been selected by the UCLA Academic Senate for the 2019 Graduate Student Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award.  
Professor Sarah Tolbert
Apr 19, 2019
Professor Sarah Tolbert has been selected by the UCLA Academic Senate for the 2019 Community Service and Praxis Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award.  
Apr 18, 2019
Chemistry & Biochemistry undergraduate students Luke Elissiry and Andy Nguyen have been accepted into the prestigious UC LEADS program. 
Professor Alexander Spokoyny
Apr 15, 2019
Professor Alexander Spokoyny has received a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award from the National Science Foundation.
Professor Richard Kaner
Apr 15, 2019
The new device, designed by the team led by Professor Richard Kaner and researcher Maher El-Kady, creates electricity from snow and acts as a weather station.
Professor Jorge Torres
Apr 15, 2019
Professor Jorge Torres has been selected by the UCLA Academic Senate for the 2019 Student Development Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award.  
NSF logo
Apr 12, 2019
Six graduate students, three undergraduate student researchers, and two alumnas receive highly competitive 2019 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program awards.