gBSA logo
Jul 13, 2018
Hosted by the Graduate Biochemistry Student Association (gBSA), series features alumni career talks & research talks by postdocs & PhD students.
Ken Houk with attendees
Jul 11, 2018
The Houk group hosted the CCHF Virtual Symposium 10 sponsored by the Center for Selective C-H Functionalization (CHF) on July 10, 2018.
Jul 9, 2018
Professors Hosea Nelson & Jose Rodriguez have been awarded a highly prestigious Maximizing Investigators’ Research Award (MIRA) R35 Grant from the NIH/NIGMS.
ICTAC logo
Jul 9, 2018
More than 80 scientists from around the world attended the International Congress on Theoretical Aspects of Catalysis (ICTAC) at UCLA June 24-28, 2018. 
Professor Sarah Tolbert
Jul 6, 2018
Professor Sarah Tolbert will serve as Director of the SCALAR center which will seek to increase battery capacity, stability and safety.
Dr. Harlan Amstutz
Jul 6, 2018

Photos from the 2018 Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry Commencement Ceremony and a video of Dr Harlan Amstutz's commencement address are now available.

Professor Kendall Houk
Jul 3, 2018
In May and June 2018, symposia in Shenzhen, China, and Vancouver, Canada, honored Ken Houk, the UCLA Saul Winstein Research Professor in Organic Chemistry. 
Professor Jorge Torres
Jun 29, 2018

Professor Jorge Torres has won the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award.

Professor Neil Garg
Jun 29, 2018

Professor Neil Garg has won the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education.

UC-HBCU logo
Jun 28, 2018
Six undergraduate students from four Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) will contribute to research projects in department laboratories this summer.
Colin Plesa
Jun 28, 2018
Postdoctoral fellow Calin Plesa (Sri Kosuri’s group) wins prestigious Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF) Career Award at the Scientific Interface (CASI).
Cover of journal
Jun 27, 2018
Professors Louis Bouchard and Paul Weiss are part of team whose discovery could be a step toward developing treatments for cancer and autoimmune diseases.
Lecture Hall drawing
Jun 27, 2018
Renovation has begun to transform 6,500 square foot former department library space on 4th floor of Young Hall into the Mani Bhaumik Centennial Collaboratory.
Professor Kendall Houk
Jun 26, 2018

With the Arnold group at Caltech, Houk's group characterizes an unusual reactive carbene intermediate in an artificial metalloenzyme that functionalizes Si-H bonds.

Professor Richard Glick
Jun 22, 2018
Alumnus Florida State University chemistry professor Richard Glick (PhD ’54) passed away on June 1, 2018, at the age of 91.
Jun 21, 2018
Undergraduate student researchers Isaac Diaz (Spokoyny group) and Jenna Molas (Kaner group) have been accepted into the prestigious UC LEADS program. 
Professor Xiangfeng Duan
Jun 21, 2018
The team reported on a new on-chip "tool" that helps to "see" & identify the key process that hinders the performance of catalyst used in fuel cells.
Professor Michael Jung
Jun 21, 2018
Professor Michael Jung was the co-awardee of the Amgen Early Innovator Award at the UCLA Biomedical & Life Science Innovation Day 2018.
Dr. Elshan Dayan
Jun 20, 2018
Postdoctoral scholar Dayan Elshan (Jung group) won first place in the cancer category for his poster at the UCLA Biomedical and Life Science Innovation Day 2018.
Dr. Nako Nakatsuka
Jun 15, 2018
Alumna Nako Nakatsuka (PhD ’17) was chosen to serve as one of two student processional marshals for the Doctoral Hooding Ceremony.
Pew Logo
Jun 14, 2018
UCLA chemistry and biochemistry assistant professors Hosea Nelson and Jose Rodriguez (BS '07, PhD '12) have been selected as 2018 Pew Scholars.
Professor Ellen Sletten
Jun 14, 2018
Professor Ellen Sletten is one of thirteen UCLA junior faculty members selected to receive the prestigious UCLA Hellman Fellows award.
Professor Xiangfeng Duan
Jun 14, 2018
The team, co-led by Professor Xiangfeng Duan, reported on their development of a new process for assembling seminconductor devices.
UCLA Dissertation Year Fellowship
Jun 13, 2018
Fourteen chemistry & biochemistry graduate student researchers receive the 2018-2019 UCLA Graduate Division Dissertation Year Fellowship (DYF).
Chemistry & Biochemistry logo
Jun 13, 2018
Four dynamic speakers are scheduled for our 2018-19 Distinguished Lecture Series: George Whitesides, David Schuster, Joanna Aizenberg, & Zhenan Bao.