Undergraduate Research Week
May 18, 2020

36 Chemistry & Biochemistry undergraduate students presented their research at the UCLA Undergraduate Research Showcase, five were awarded the prestigious Science Dean's Prize. 

Nicole Lynn
May 12, 2020
In honor of National Women's Health Week, BMSB PhD student Nicole Lynn (Torres lab) writes article about women’s health for ASBMB Today magazine.  
Professor Hans Reich
May 7, 2020
We are sad to report that alumnus Professor Hans J Reich (PhD ’68 Cram) died on May 1 at the age of 76 from an injury sustained in a bicycle accident.
Professor Laurence Lavelle
May 7, 2020

Educational innovator Laurence Lavelle receives 2019-20 UCLA NSF Professional Development Award for successful student resources.

Professor Richard Kaner
May 5, 2020
Research by Professor Richard Kaner’s group, published in Advanced Materials, is one of the top downloaded papers in journal’s recent publication history.
Dr. Evan Darzi
May 5, 2020
Professor Neil Garg and former postdoc Evan Darzi report the key chemical discovery necessary for the creation of a small, electronic marijuana breathalyzer. 
Professor James Gimzewski
May 5, 2020
Jim Gimzewski and alum Adam Stieg are part of team whose paper is #3 on Nature’s Scientific Reports top 100 downloaded physics papers published in 2019. 
Professor Steven Clarke
May 4, 2020
Professor Steven Clarke receives Pomona College's prestigious 2020 Blaisdell Distinguished Alumni Award for carrying "the spirit of the College" into the world. 
Beckman Scholar logo
Apr 29, 2020
Undergraduate researchers Sasha Gill-Ljunghammer (Tolbert Group) and Hieu Nguyen (Torres group) have been selected as 2020-2021 Beckman Scholars.  
Professor Thomas Mason
Apr 29, 2020
Professors Kun Zhao (Tianjin U) and Tom Mason (UCLA) discover tetratic order in dense 2D systems of rotationally asymmetric hard kite particles.
Professor Alex Spokoyny
Apr 28, 2020
Professor Alexander Spokoyny is among 14 honorees nationwide to receive a 2020 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award.
Professor Paul Weiss
Apr 27, 2020
Team led by Professor Paul Weiss’ group develops a new method to safely, rapidly and economically deliver DNA into stem cells and immune cells. 
Professor Robin Garrell
Apr 27, 2020
Chemistry professor Robin Garrell, Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Dean of the Graduate Division, to serve as new President of the CUNY Graduate Center. 
Professor Kenneth Trueblood
Apr 24, 2020
April 24 is the 100th anniversary of the birth of Kenneth Trueblood, who for nearly 50 years was a distinguished member of our department. 
Max with one of his backgrounds
Apr 24, 2020
First-year organic chemistry graduate student Maximilian McCallum amuses Chem 243B professor and fellow classmates with his clever Zoom background images.
David Boyer
Apr 23, 2020
BMSB graduate student David Boyer (Eisenberg group) has been chosen as a recipient of a Charles E and Sue K Young Graduate Student Fellowship Award. 
Professor Miguel Garcia-Garibay
Apr 23, 2020
Dean of Physical Sciences Miguel García-Garibay has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
Grant Hushek
Apr 22, 2020
Kaner group undergraduate research assistant Grant Hushek wins American Society for Metals (ASM) International Los Angeles Chapter scholarship. 
Professor Thomas Dunne
Apr 20, 2020
UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry alumnus and Reed College Professor Emeritus Thomas Dunne ’52 died on April 5, 2020, at the age of 89.
Rafal Dziedzic
Apr 17, 2020
Alumnus Rafal Dziedzic (PhD ’19 Spokoyny group) has been named as a recipient of the 2020 ACS-DIC Young Investigator Award. 
Dr. Kennen MacKay
Apr 17, 2020
Biotechnology analyst Dr Kennen MacKay (PhD ’12, S Clarke) has been appearing weekly on CNBC's business news show to discuss the spread of COVID-19.
Dr. Ralph Bauer
Apr 16, 2020
Dr Ralph Bauer (BS ’52, PhD ’58) has been selected to receive the 2020 UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry Alumni Legacy Award.  
Dr. Rachel Loo
Apr 15, 2020
Researcher Dr Rachel Ogorzalek Loo is recipient of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry (ASMS) Al Yergey Mass Spectrometry Scientist Award. 
Xiaofei "Fay" Lin
Apr 9, 2020
BMSB PhD student Xiaofei "Fay" Lin is gaining attention for her efforts to raise mental health awareness in Science Technology Engineering and Math (STEM). 
Evan Maltz
Apr 7, 2020
3rd year biochemistry graduate student Evan Maltz (Wollman group) wins the Institute for Digital Research and Education (IDRE) Early Career Research Day award.