Nature logo
Sep 9, 2020
In the journal Nature, the Garg and Houk groups report the use of unusual strained intermediates in asymmetric catalysis, work highlighted in C&EN. 
Professor Nancy Goroff
Sep 8, 2020
Stony Brook professor Nancy Goroff (PhD ’94), the Democratic nominee for Congress in New York’s First Congressional District, is profiled in C&EN
Jianxing Huang
Sep 3, 2020
Northwestern Professor Jiaxing Huang (PhD ’04, Kaner group) named inaugural Editor-in-Chief of new ACS journal Accounts of Materials Research
Undergraduate Departmental Awards
Sep 2, 2020
Each year we recognize our undergraduate students with departmental awards for their accomplishments in academics and in research.
Professor Anastassia Alexandrova
Aug 31, 2020
Professor Anastassia Alexandrova’s 2017 Viewpoint article is selected for ACS Catalysis Virtual Issue: “Blurring the Lines Between Catalysis Subdisciplines”. 
Professor M. Frederick Hawthorne
Aug 26, 2020
A new American Chemical Society (ACS) national award honors boron research pioneer UCLA Professor Emeritus M Frederick Hawthorne. 
Nicole Lynn
Aug 26, 2020
BMSB PhD student Nicole Lynn (Torres lab) writes second article for ASBMB Today magazine as part of their contributor program.  
Richard Dickerson
Aug 24, 2020
Honoring Professor Emeritus Richard Dickerson, a giant in structural biology, a new fund is being established to provide resources for an enriched biochemistry seminar series at UCLA.  
Raymond A. Wilson
Aug 20, 2020
We are sad to report that long-time supporter and alumnus Raymond Wilson ’43 passed away at the age of 98 on August 2, 2020.
Osvaldo Gutierrez
Aug 20, 2020
Former Houk group undergraduate researcher Professor Osvaldo Gutierrez, University of Maryland, named one of Chemical and Engineering News’ Talented 12.
Professor Ken Houk
Aug 14, 2020
Professor Kendall Houk wins the 2021 Roger Adams Award in Organic Chemistry, one of the most important awards given by the ACS. 
Samantha Mensah
Aug 10, 2020
PhD student Samantha Mensah (Andrews/P Weiss labs) co-organizes #BlackInChem week to create dialogue and amplify the work of other Black researchers on Twitter.
UCLA Physical Sciences Logo
Aug 5, 2020
In a new video, Professors Hosea Nelson and Jose Rodriguez speak about their research and the importance of diversity and inclusion in the sciences.
Professor Steven Clarke
Aug 3, 2020
Professor Steven Clarke was recently interviewed by science journalist Robyn Williams about his Alzheimer’s disease research.
Professor Jose Rodriguez
Aug 3, 2020
Professor Jose Rodriguez was recently interviewed by science journalist Robyn Williams about his infectious rope-like prion proteins research.
Professor Paula Diaconsescu
Aug 3, 2020
Professors Paula Diaconescu and Chong Liu are part of the Center for Integrated Catalysis with the goal to mimic biological systems in the development of synthetic chemical catalytic processes.
Professor Heather Maynard
Jul 29, 2020
Professor Heather Maynard will serve as Co-director of BioPACIFIC MIP, which will seek to advance fundamental science toward sustainable material development.
UCLA College Magazine Special Centennial Issue cover
Jul 24, 2020
Several members of the UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry are featured in a special centennial issue of the UCLA College Magazine.  
Image from article
Jul 23, 2020
An article by instructors Roshini Ramachandran and Marlius Castillo provides student perspectives and insight on remote learning in a large chemistry class. 
Professor William Dichtel
Jul 22, 2020
Postdoctoral alum Professor William Dichtel (Northwestern) receives the prestigious 2020 Blavatnik National Award in Chemistry.
Innovation Magazine cover
Jul 21, 2020
The July edition of UCLA's TDG Innovation Magazine features articles about three Chemistry & Biochemistry faculty members.               
Professor Paul Weiss
Jul 16, 2020
Professor Paul Weiss has been elected as Honorary Fellow of the Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) for the year 2020-21. 
Lecture hall
Jul 13, 2020
The construction of the Mani L Bhaumik Centennial Collaboratory has continued while campus has been closed and the results are exciting!  
Norman "Lou" Allinger
Jul 9, 2020
Professor Norman “Lou” Allinger (University of Georgia), pioneer of molecular mechanics, PhD with Donald Cram at UCLA, dies at age 92.
Professor Sarah Tolbert
Jul 6, 2020

The annual CNSI Nanovation Competition at UCLA, directed by Professor Sarah Tolbert, sparks excitement about science and business in high schoolers.