Dr. Jeffrey Vinokur
Oct 15, 2020
Graduate students Musibau Francis Jimoh (Kaner lab) and Rachel Knapp (Garg lab) are featured in video with alum Dr Jeffrey Vinokur (PhD ’17 Bowie lab).
Professor Keriann Backus
Oct 15, 2020
The David and Lucile Packard Foundation selects Professor Keriann Backus as one of 20 recipients of the 2020 Packard Fellowships for Science and Engineering.  
Professor Sri Kosuri
Oct 9, 2020
Technology created by Professor Sri Kosuri’s UCLA-founded startup company Octant leads to the development of a faster and cheaper COVID-19 testing technique.
Professor Hosea Nelson
Oct 8, 2020
Professor Hosea Nelson has been named as a recipient of the prestigious 2020 Eli Lilly Grantee Award for Organic Chemistry. 
Professor Juli Feigon
Oct 7, 2020
Professor Juli Feigon discusses her telomerase research with science journalist Robyn Williams on “The Science Show”. 
Professor Benny Ng
Oct 5, 2020
Pierce College professor Benny Ng (BS ’03, MS ’09, PhD ’10 Tolbert group) features rapper Snoop Dogg in viral video encouraging students to read class syllabus.
Mackenzie Anderson
Oct 2, 2020
Graduate student Mackenzie Anderson ‘17 (Kaner group) is selected for prestigious 2020 NWRI-SCSC Fellowship.
Research image
Sep 30, 2020

The Tang, Garg, and Houk research groups have discovered nature’s natural protein catalysts (enzymes) that catalyze the Alder-ene reaction.

Dr. Audree Fowler
Sep 28, 2020

BMSB graduate students Janine Fu, Calina Glynn, and Jiahui Lu have been selected as 2020-21 Audree Fowler Fellows in Protein Science.

Professor Richard Kaner
Sep 28, 2020

Professor Richard Kaner has been elected a 2020 Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Professor Francois Diederich
Sep 25, 2020
We are sad to report that UCLA postdoc alum and former faculty member Professor François Diederich (ETH Zürich) passed away on September 23. 
Chaungzhen Zhao
Sep 24, 2020

Graduate student Chuanzhen Zhao (P Weiss/A Andrews groups) receives the prestigious Dimitris N Chorafas Foundation Award. 

Professors Patrick Harran and Ken Houk
Sep 18, 2020
Harran and Houk groups create computer software that predicts structure and three-dimensional conformations of products made from synthetic reaction sequences.  
Professors Jose Rodriguez and Jorge Torres
Sep 17, 2020

Professors Jose Rodriguez and Jorge Torres are recognized in Cell Press’ list of 100 inspiring Hispanic/Latinx scientists in America.

Sep 17, 2020

The department is seeking outstanding candidates for tenure–track or tenured faculty positions at the level of Assistant, Associate, and Full Professor. 

Professor Neil Garg
Sep 17, 2020
In Chemical & Engineering News article, Professor Neil Garg discusses mentoring with columnist and Emory chemistry professor Jen Heemstra.
Professor John Wasson
Sep 16, 2020
We are sad to report that UCLA cosmochemist Emeritus Professor John Wasson passed away peacefully at the age of 86 on September 7.
Professor Chong Liu
Sep 10, 2020
Professor Chong Liu receives a highly prestigious Maximizing Investigators’ Research Award (MIRA or R35) award from the NIH/NIGMS.
Nature logo
Sep 9, 2020
In the journal Nature, the Garg and Houk groups report the use of unusual strained intermediates in asymmetric catalysis, work highlighted in C&EN. 
Professor Nancy Goroff
Sep 8, 2020
Stony Brook professor Nancy Goroff (PhD ’94), the Democratic nominee for Congress in New York’s First Congressional District, is profiled in C&EN
Jianxing Huang
Sep 3, 2020
Northwestern Professor Jiaxing Huang (PhD ’04, Kaner group) named inaugural Editor-in-Chief of new ACS journal Accounts of Materials Research
Undergraduate Departmental Awards
Sep 2, 2020
Each year we recognize our undergraduate students with departmental awards for their accomplishments in academics and in research.
Professor Anastassia Alexandrova
Aug 31, 2020
Professor Anastassia Alexandrova’s 2017 Viewpoint article is selected for ACS Catalysis Virtual Issue: “Blurring the Lines Between Catalysis Subdisciplines”. 
Professor M. Frederick Hawthorne
Aug 26, 2020
A new American Chemical Society (ACS) national award honors boron research pioneer UCLA Professor Emeritus M Frederick Hawthorne. 
Nicole Lynn
Aug 26, 2020
BMSB PhD student Nicole Lynn (Torres lab) writes second article for ASBMB Today magazine as part of their contributor program.