National Academy of Sciences

Posted on

NASLogo 0

Sir J. Fraser Stoddart, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry and Biochemistry at UCLA, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS).

Membership in the NAS is one of the highest honors given to a scientist in the United States. Stoddart is among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries recognized for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original scientific research.

Stoddart, currently the Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences at Northwestern University, will be inducted into the academy next April during its 152nd annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Sir J. Fraser Stoddart

Those elected this week bring the total number of active members to 2,214 and the total number of foreign associates to 444. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council — provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

The full list of the newly elected members is available at