Oct 18, 2019
Dr. Jennifer Casey
Professor Jennifer Casey explains her approach to teaching in a short video recorded as part of the UCLA Academic Senate's recognition.
The 2019 Distinguished Teaching Awards were announced earlier this year and the recipients were recognized at the 2019 Andrea L. Rich Night to Honor Teaching at the Chancellor’s residence on Oct. 15, 2019.  
As part of the recognition, each recipient gave a short video interview. Casey's interview can be viewed here.
Excerpt from UCLA Newsroom (by Stephanie Chang):
Professors who shine in the classroom recognized by UCLA
Recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Awards were honored by the Academic Senate
The recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Awards — UCLA’s highest honor for teaching — were recently honored at the Andrea L. Rich Night to Honor Teaching award ceremony.
The awards, which were presented at a special ceremony on the evening of Oct. 15 at the Chancellor’s Residence, honor individuals who bring respect and admiration to teaching, allowing UCLA to demonstrate its excellence in higher education and provide role models for faculty and students. 
The winners are chosen based on a range of criteria:
  • Impact on students, specifically playing a key role in students’ success, offering advice and guidance on career plans, or serving as a significant influence in students’ lives
  • Efforts to create a learning environment in which diverse students can succeed
  • Using innovative teaching methods and/or curriculum
  • Involvement in community outreach activities
  • Teaching ratings
  • Recipients were named from three categories: the senate faculty, non-senate faculty and teaching assistants.
The senate faculty awardees were professors Anastassia Alexandrova, Kathleen Bawn, Gregory Grether, Katsuya Hirano, Eric Sheppard and Stephanie White.
The non-senate faculty awardees were lecturers Jennifer Casey, Juliet Falce-Robinson and Jorja Leap.
Jennifer Casey is a professor of chemistry. She specializes in computational chemistry and physical chemistry. She also conducts chemical education research under the advisement of Arlene Russell, a professor of chemistry.
The teaching assistant awardees were:

Kaitlin Ingraham Dixie – molecular, cellular and integrative physiology
Sean Messarra – history
Samantha Morse – English
Jordan Wallace-Wolf – philosophy
Katherine Winchell – chemistry and biochemistry