Professor Richard Kaner
Aug 11, 2022
In a new video, Professor Richard Kaner explains his Nobel Fund team’s goal is to create technology for grid-level batteries that store energy from sustainable but intermittent sources such as the sun and wind.
Prof. Abigail Doyle
Aug 11, 2022
Professor Abigail Doyle is co-PI of the NSF Center for Computer Aided Synthesis (C-CAS), which will use machine learning to accelerate the synthesis of molecules.
The Doyle lab is interest
Professor Yves Rubin
Aug 11, 2022
In a new video, Professor Yves Rubin and UCLA collaborators explain their Nobel Fund project to develop a zero-carbon foot print process for generating hydrogen for energy.
Rubin and colla
Professor Ken Houk
Aug 10, 2022
Professor Ken Houk is part of a team to develop new techniques that enable unprecedented versatility in design of drug molecules.  
Prof. Xiangfeng Duan
Aug 8, 2022
Professor Xiangfeng Duan and members of his group are part of a team led by UCLA researchers to devise a method for predicting performance of catalysts in fuel cells.
Platinum is the best
Dr. Hung V. Pham
Aug 5, 2022
Popular chemistry professor and alum Hung V Pham (PhD '15 Houk group) receives the department’s 2022 Hanson-Dow Award for Excellence in Teaching.  
Prof. Margot Quinlan
Aug 5, 2022
Biochemist Professor Margot Quinlan receives the department's 2022 Hanson-Dow Award for Excellence in Teaching.  
Quantum computing
Aug 4, 2022
Professors Anastassia Alexandrova and Justin Caram are part of a UCLA-led team that has developed a fundamentally new strategy for building quantum computers. 
Components of spin tunneling junction with chiral molecular intercalation superlattices
Aug 2, 2022
A chiral molecular intercalation superlattice (CMIS) designed by Duan’s group achieves a remarkable spin polarization ratio of more than 60%, among the highest selectivity achieved in molecular spin tunneling junctions.
Prof. Xiangfeng Duan
Aug 2, 2022
Professor Xiangfeng Duan receives the prestigious 2022 McCoy Award, which recognizes the researchers in the department who have made the greatest contribution of the year to the science of chemistry and biochemistry.
Professor Juli Feigon
Aug 2, 2022
Professor Juli Feigon receives the prestigious 2022 McCoy Award, which recognizes the researchers in the department who have made the greatest contribution of the year to the science of chemistry and biochemistry.
Professor Gerard Wong
Jul 29, 2022
UCLA’s Gerard Wong approaches life sciences with an eye for connection and a distrust of metaphors.
Zhong Wan
Jul 29, 2022
Dr Zhong Wan, a postdoctoral researcher in the Duan group, has found an engaging way to explain his research to the public through sandwich making. 
His fun 1-minute video explaining how t
Dr. Natalie Boehnke
Jul 27, 2022
Maynard group alumna Dr Natalie Boehnke (PhD ’17) is co-leader of an all-woman team from the Koch Institute at MIT to develop a new way to study nanoparticle delivery.  
The findings from this colla
Dr. Maher El-Kady
Jul 26, 2022
Alumnus Dr Maher El-Kady (PhD '13), currently an Assistant Researcher in the Kaner group, is named to the "Talented Twelve" by C&EN.
UCLA Environment, Health & Safety
Jul 21, 2022
UCLA Environment, Health, and Safety spearheads a pilot chemical inventory project, using radio-frequency identification technology to provide free chemical inventorying services for laboratories.
Dr. Arlene Russell
Jul 20, 2022
Members of the department and family members gathered to celebrate the remarkable career of Dr Arlene Russell at the Botanical Garden’s La Kretz Garden Pavilion on June 29th.
Dr. Ralph Bauer
Jul 20, 2022
We are sad to report that alumnus and 2020 Alumni Legacy Award recipient Dr Ralph Bauer passed away on July 12, 2022, at the age of 92.
Staff Awards 2022
Jul 18, 2022
Congratulations to the recipients of the 2022 Staff Recognition Awards, which recognize outstanding contributions made to the department by our staff members.
2022 Postdoctoral Research Awards
Jul 15, 2022

Four talented UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry scientists have been selected for the department's 2022 Postdoctoral Research Awards.

Professor Alex Levine
Jul 14, 2022
We are sad to report that devoted father and loving husband Professor Alex Levine died on July 8, 2022 in Santa Monica. 
Professor Jeffrey Zink
Jul 11, 2022
The Jeffrey I Zink Inorganic Chemistry Seminar Series at UCLA has been named with a generous gift by Helo Zink and Distinguished Professor Jeffrey Zink.
Professor Christopher Foote
Jul 7, 2022
Third-year organic chemistry graduate students Ana Bulger, Matthew McVeigh, and Billy Treacy have been named the 2022 Senior Foote Fellows.   
2022 Ralph & Charlene Bauer Awards
Jul 7, 2022
Nine talented chemistry & biochemistry graduate students have been awarded the 2022 Ralph & Charlene Bauer Awards in recognition of their excellence in research, teaching, and service.
Dr. Ralph Bauer
Jul 6, 2022

We celebrated the many accomplishments of our alumni, faculty, postdocs, students, and staff at our annual departmental awards ceremony on May 13, 2022.