Professor Kenneth Trueblood
Apr 24, 2020
April 24 is the 100th anniversary of the birth of Kenneth Trueblood, who for nearly 50 years was a distinguished member of our department. 
Max with one of his backgrounds
Apr 24, 2020
First-year organic chemistry graduate student Maximilian McCallum amuses Chem 243B professor and fellow classmates with his clever Zoom background images.
David Boyer
Apr 23, 2020
BMSB graduate student David Boyer (Eisenberg group) has been chosen as a recipient of a Charles E and Sue K Young Graduate Student Fellowship Award. 
Professor Miguel Garcia-Garibay
Apr 23, 2020
Dean of Physical Sciences Miguel García-Garibay has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
Grant Hushek
Apr 22, 2020
Kaner group undergraduate research assistant Grant Hushek wins American Society for Metals (ASM) International Los Angeles Chapter scholarship. 
Professor Thomas Dunne
Apr 20, 2020
UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry alumnus and Reed College Professor Emeritus Thomas Dunne ’52 died on April 5, 2020, at the age of 89.
Rafal Dziedzic
Apr 17, 2020
Alumnus Rafal Dziedzic (PhD ’19 Spokoyny group) has been named as a recipient of the 2020 ACS-DIC Young Investigator Award. 
Dr. Kennen MacKay
Apr 17, 2020
Biotechnology analyst Dr Kennen MacKay (PhD ’12, S Clarke) has been appearing weekly on CNBC's business news show to discuss the spread of COVID-19.
Dr. Ralph Bauer
Apr 16, 2020
Dr Ralph Bauer (BS ’52, PhD ’58) has been selected to receive the 2020 UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry Alumni Legacy Award.  
Dr. Rachel Loo
Apr 15, 2020
Researcher Dr Rachel Ogorzalek Loo is recipient of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry (ASMS) Al Yergey Mass Spectrometry Scientist Award. 
Xiaofei "Fay" Lin
Apr 9, 2020
BMSB PhD student Xiaofei "Fay" Lin is gaining attention for her efforts to raise mental health awareness in Science Technology Engineering and Math (STEM). 
Evan Maltz
Apr 7, 2020
3rd year biochemistry graduate student Evan Maltz (Wollman group) wins the Institute for Digital Research and Education (IDRE) Early Career Research Day award.
Professors Sabeeha Merchant and Randy Schekman
Apr 2, 2020
A generous donation to create a term chair in UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry has been pledged by Professors Randy Schekman and Sabeeha Merchant.
NSF logo
Apr 1, 2020
Congratulations to our current and former students who have received prestigious 2020 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Awards and Honorable Mentions.
Santiago Vargas
Mar 30, 2020
PhD student Santiago Vargas (Alexandrova group) is first UCLA student in nearly 20 years to receive a prestigious DOE Computational Science Graduate Fellowship.
Professor Sharon Neufeldt
Mar 30, 2020
The department’s first Teacher-Scholar, Sharon Neufeldt, now an assistant professor at Montana State University, wins a prestigious 2020 Cottrell Scholar Award.
Professor Anastassia Alexandrova
Mar 26, 2020
Vice Chair of Undergraduate Education Professor Anastassia Alexandrova offers some ideas of how our undergraduate students can stay productive at home. 
Professor Jiaxing Huang
Mar 26, 2020
Professor Jiaxing Huang (PhD ’04, Kaner group) has received funding to develop a new self-sanitizing medical face mask that deactivates viruses on contact.
Professor Joanne Stubbe
Mar 24, 2020
JoAnne Stubbe’s 2020 Priestly Medal address “The road less traveled—for love of detection, discovery, and all things radical in nature” is now online.
Professor Ken Houk
Mar 23, 2020
Professor Ken Houk’s group joins with the Scott Denmark group at University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign to explain the autocatalytic Soai reaction.
Mar 17, 2020
On March 1, 2020, we celebrated the official installation of Professor Michael Jung as the UC Presidential Chair in Medicinal Chemistry.
Lyda Boyer
Mar 16, 2020
We are sad to report that Lyda Boyer, widow of Nobel Laureate Emeritus Professor Paul Boyer, passed away on Monday March 9, just short of her 101st birthday.
James Bowie
Mar 12, 2020
Professor James Bowie receives the 2020 Stein and Moore Award in recognition of his protein science research and service to the scientific community.
David Boyer
Mar 12, 2020
PhD student David Boyer (Eisenberg group) is one of 20 young scientists chosen for inaugural class of the UC President’s Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings Fellows
Rachana Jayaraman receiving her book
Mar 12, 2020
Undergraduate student Rachana Jayaraman is the winner of the 2018-19 Chem14A/B Excellence in Chemistry Book Award.