Research image
Sep 25, 2017
The groups of Professors Yi Tang and Ken Houk and Japanese scientists have discovered a new mode of enzyme catalysis recently reported in the journal Nature.
Professor Guillaume Chanfreau
Sep 22, 2017
Professor Guillaume Chanfreau has been selected by the American Cancer Society for the 2017 Determination Award for his cancer research.
Aug 31, 2017
Graduate student Nako Nakatsuka (A Andrews/P Weiss groups) won “Grand Overall Prize” at the Brain in Flux meeting & she recently starred in a science video for kids.
student at poster
Aug 31, 2017
Undergraduate summer researchers from SPUR ten-week programs presented their posters at the August 30, 2017 event in the Young Hall Student Collaboratory.
Aug 30, 2017
In response to concerns from students, a new policy has been instituted to limit the cost of written course materials for chemistry and biochemistry classes.
The newly formed Written Cours
man with boxes on dolly
Aug 25, 2017
A new online purchase order system will be available to all Chemistry & Biochemistry faculty, postdocs, graduate students and staff on September 1, 2017. 
Professor Heather Maynard
Aug 21, 2017
Professor Heather Maynard is one of ten organic chemists to be selected for the Arthur C Cope Scholar Award by the American Chemical Society (ACS). 
student with poster
Aug 17, 2017
Undergraduate summer researchers from SPUR eight-week programs presented their posters at the August 17, 2017 event in the Young Hall Student Collaboratory.
Elaine Quan
Aug 17, 2017

Graduate student Elaine Qian (Spokoyny lab) is one of nine women selected to receive the ACS Women Chemists Committee’s 2nd Annual Merck Research Award.

Professor Steven Clarke
Aug 16, 2017
Professor Steve Clarke has been awarded the 2018 William C Rose Award by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB).
Dr. Michael Teitell
Aug 16, 2017
Professor Michael Teitell (BS biochemistry ’85) has been named director of the UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center.
“Mike is a wonderful co
Students and staff at reception
Aug 10, 2017
On August 3, 2017, the department hosted a reception for all undergraduate and high school students who conduct research in faculty labs. 
Professor Paula Diaconescu
Aug 10, 2017
Professor Paula Diaconescu is playing a leading role in a new UCLA NSF-funded program to train graduate students on issues of sustainable food, energy and water.
Dr. Eric Scerri
Aug 9, 2017
UCLA chemistry lecturer and author Eric Scerri’s public lecture at the Royal Institution of Great Britain is featured in the British newspaper The Wharf.
Prof. Alexander Spokoyny
Aug 3, 2017
Professor Alexander Spokoyny has received a highly prestigious Maximizing Investigators’ Research Award (MIRA or R35) award from the NIH/NIGMS.
Prof. James Bowie
Aug 3, 2017
Professor and Vice Chair James Bowie has been selected as a 2018 Fellow by the Biophysical Society.
Carol West
Aug 1, 2017
We are sad to report that Carol West, wife of UCLA biochemistry professor emeritus Charles West, passed away on July 21, 2017.
Prof. Patrick Harran
Jul 31, 2017
Professor Patrick Harran discussed his research on the molecule DZ-2384 in a recent interview with science journalist Robyn Williams on the popular radio program.
Dr. Steven Jonas
Jul 27, 2017

UCLA researcher Steven J. Jonas M.D./Ph.D. (Paul Weiss group) was selected for a 2017 Alex’s Lemonade Stand Foundation (ALSF) Young Investigator Grant.

Professor Craig Merlic
Jul 26, 2017
The UCLA Center for Laboratory Safety, directed by Professor Craig Merlic, has received a 2017 CSHEMA Innovation Award.
Sep Sarshar
Jul 19, 2017
Video and select photos from the 2017 Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry Commencement Ceremony are now available for viewing.
Professor Xiangfeng Duan
Jul 19, 2017
Professor Xiangfeng Duan has been selected by the International Society of Electrochemistry as the winner of the Zhaowu Tian Prize for Energy Electrochemistry.
Professor Ken Houk
Jul 19, 2017
The Houk group hosted the CCHF Virtual Symposium 07 sponsored by the Center for Selective C-H Functionalization (CHF) on July 18, 2017.
Research image
Jul 13, 2017
Professors Richard Kaner and Sarah Tolbert are the recipients of the rare and coveted 2017 National Science Foundation (NSF) Special Creativity Award.
students listening
Jul 12, 2017
Thirty-eight members of the 2017 Chemistry and Biochemistry graduate cohort will be participating in research rotations this summer.