Professor Christopher Foote
Jan 31, 2018
Photos from the 2018 Christopher S Foote Lecture events are now available for viewing.
Professor Jose Rodriguez
Jan 30, 2018
The researchers have determined the atomic structure of a protein fragment called a prion that is associated with infectious neurodegenerative diseases.
Prof. Neil Garg
Jan 25, 2018
Professor Neil Garg has been awarded Baylor University’s prestigious Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching. 
Mackenzie Anderson
Jan 23, 2018
1st year PhD student Mackenzie Anderson (Kaner Group) awarded a 2018 American Membrane Technology Association-US Bureau of Reclamation Graduate Fellowship.
Professor Emil Reisler
Jan 22, 2018

UCLA researchers have found that modification of actin leads to dramatic changes in actin filament stability.

Miguel Garcia-Garibay and William Gelbart with medal
Jan 19, 2018
Photos from the 2017 Seaborg Symposium & Medal Award Dinner honoring Professor William Gelbart are now available for viewing.
Dr. Eric Scerri
Jan 18, 2018
UCLA chemistry lecturer and author Dr Eric Scerri was invited by C&EN to write a guest editorial in celebration of the Year of the Periodic Table.
Prof. Christopher Foote
Jan 18, 2018
Graduate students Emily (Maly) Cosco (Sletten lab), Michael Yamano (Garg lab), & Alex Bagdasarian (Nelson lab) have been named the 2018 Senior Foote Fellows.  
Prof. Joseph Loo
Jan 12, 2018
The Loo research team developed a mass spectrometry workflow that can be used for drug development and structural biology research.
Prof. Justin Caram
Jan 10, 2018
A research photo submitted by Professor Justin Caram and postdoc Dr Tim Atallah was included in the journal's Chemistry in Pictures section.
Research image
Jan 10, 2018
Professors Miguel Garcia-Garibay and Ken Houk are part of a team to form a crystal out of molecules that each has a solid exterior but contains moving parts.
Dec 15, 2017
UCLA researchers have developed a novel method for creating graphene nanoribbons which can be used to make better electronics.
Prof. Louis Bouchard
Dec 14, 2017
Professor Louis Bouchard and alumna Julia Mack are part of UCLA team to find a protein which helps ward off inflammation.
Professor Anne Andrews
Dec 14, 2017
UCLA chemist and neuroscientist Professor Anne Andrews has been elected Fellow of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP).  
Prof. Joseph Loo
Dec 12, 2017
UCLA researchers have developed a biochemical test for assessing concussions and other forms of brain injury.
Prof. Miguel Garcia-Garibay
Dec 8, 2017
As a featured speaker at the 2017 SACNAS Diversity in STEM Conference, Dean Miguel García-Garibay spoke about his work with molecular machinery. 
Professor Paul Weiss
Dec 8, 2017
Professor Paul Weiss group’s cover article in ACS Nano on etching silicon nanotubes is featured as “editor’s choice” in Science Magazine.
Thomson Reuters logo
Dec 6, 2017
Three UCLA Chemistry and Biochemistry faculty are among the most influential scientists in their fields for 2017, as determined by Thomson Reuters.
Student with baloons
Dec 5, 2017
Professor Neil Garg and members of his lab visited a local elementary school to teach children about forces using helium-filled balloons.
Professor Richard Kaner
Dec 5, 2017
Research of Professor Richard Kaner and postdoc Maher El-Kady featured in "The Cutting Edge" section of the U Magazine
Professor Gerard Wong
Dec 1, 2017

Team led by physical chemist Professor Gerard Wong discovers a new perspective on how cells regulate the sizes of mitochondria by cutting them into smaller units.

Eun Bin Go
Nov 30, 2017
Graduate student Eun Bin Go (Tang group) has been awarded a Pauley Fellowship by the UCLA College of Letters and Sciences, Division of Physical Sciences. 
Professor Miguel Garcia-Garibay
Nov 29, 2017
Division of Physical Sciences Dean Professor Miguel García-Garibay has been appointed to the National Science Foundation's Directorate for MPSAC.  
photo of students playing games
Nov 27, 2017
More than thirty Biochemistry students and postdocs enjoyed a night of trivia on Thursday, November 9, 2017 in the Winstein Commons.
student winners
Nov 22, 2017
Several undergraduate researchers received presentation awards at the Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS) on Nov 4, 2017.