Mar 20, 2013

The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation featured research by Professor James Gimzewski, aimed at creating a computer with a structure that mimics the human brain.  

Mar 15, 2013

The International Society of Computational Biology (ISCB) will award Professor David Eisenberg with the Senior Scientist Accomplishment Award for his contributions to the field of computational biology through research, education, and service.

Mar 11, 2013

The UCLA Academic Senate selected Professor Richard Kaner as the recipient of the 115th Faculty Research Lectureship for his outstanding record of accomplishment, placing him among the university’s most distinguished scholars.

Mar 8, 2013

We are pleased to announce the hiring of Dr. Janette Kropat as the new Building and Facility Manager.

Mar 8, 2013

Professor Richard Kaner's research on graphene-based "supercapacitors" has received tremendous attention on various web news outlets.

Mar 8, 2013

Professor Paul Weiss was one of the three faculty featured in UCLA Today's coverage of the university's role in the national brain-mapping initiative.

Mar 7, 2013

UCLA's reputation continues to rise, according to new international rankings released today.

Mar 7, 2013

Professor Jorge Torres was named one of thirteen 2013 Cottrell Scholars by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA), recognizing his scientific contributions to research and his commitment to undergraduate education.

Feb 22, 2013

Professor Richard Kaner and Maher El-Kady (Kaner Lab), have developed a cost-effective and scalable method for producing micro-supercapacitors, which may have potential applications in roll-up displays, TVs, e-paper, and even wearabl

Feb 22, 2013

Professor Heather Maynard, graduate students Thi Nguyen and Caitlin Decker, former postdocs Sung-Hye Kim and Darice Wong, and Professor Joseph Loo have developed new bio-mimicking therapeutics that can be used to quicken the wound healing process.

Feb 14, 2013

Professor Anastassia Alexandrova was selected as one of 126 early-career scientists and scholars to receive a 2013 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow.

Feb 8, 2013

Professor Heather Maynard was one of six individuals selected as a 2013 Fellow of the Division of Polymer Chemistry (POLY Fellow) by the Division of Polymer Chemistry, of the American Chemical Society.

Feb 8, 2013

Professor James Liao was elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) for his advances in metabolic engineering of microorganisms to produce fuels and chemicals.

Feb 5, 2013

Professor Shimon Weiss was selected to receive a Humboldt Research Award for his lifetime achievements in research, after being nominated by Prof. Dr. Joerg Enderlein from the Universitaet Goettingen, Germany.

Jan 29, 2013

Professor Emeritus M. Frederick Hawthorne is among twelve scientists President Obama selected to receive the National Medal of Science, the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government upon scientists.

UBordeaux-UCLA Workshop on Polymers to be Held January 31-February 1
Jan 29, 2013

Professor Tim Deming and Professor Sebastien Leccomandoux, from the University of Bordeaux, have organized the inaugural UBordeaux-UCLA Workshop on Polymers, to be held January 31-February 1 at the Getty Villa, Malibu and UCLA.

UCLA Richard Gillespie an alumnus and long-time staff member passed away on January 25
Jan 29, 2013

Richard (Dick) Gillespie, an alumnus and long-time staff member in the department, passed away in his sleep on Friday, January 25 at the age of 90.

UCLA Prof. Raphael Levine to be Awarded the 2012 ICS Gold Medal
Jan 25, 2013

Professor Raphael Levine will be awarded the 2012 Israel Chemical Society (ICS) Gold Medal for his outstanding contributions to the field of chemistry.

Jan 22, 2013

Professor Paul Weiss and co-workers were awarded a $1 million W.M. Keck Foundation grant to fund research in uses of "compressive sensing."

UCLA Graduate Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague becomes head of NSF Chemistry Division
Jan 2, 2013

UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry graduate (BS, PhD)  Prof. Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague has been chosen as the next director of the NSF Chemistry Division.

Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague is a professor and chair of the department of chemistry at the University of California, Davis. 

UCLA Chemistry Professor Neil Garg Receives S. T. Li Prize
Dec 20, 2012

The S.T. Li Foundation has awarded Professor Neil Garg with the 2012-2014 Li Prize for Achievements in Science and Technology.

The photos and lecture video recordings are available at
Dec 18, 2012

The photos and lecture video recordings are available at

A video peek inside Richard Kaner's laboratory at UCLA
Dec 18, 2012

A video peek inside Richard Kaner's laboratory at UCLA.

UCLA Chemistry Prof. Raphael Levine invited to continue service as a PNAS Editorial Board Member
Dec 18, 2012

Professor Raphael Levine has accepted a 3-year term and will continue his service to the PNAS Editorial Board.

2012 UCLA Chemistry Professor wins 2012 Inter-American Photochemical Society Award
Dec 9, 2012

Professor Miguel Garcia-Garibay has won a 2012 Inter-American Photochemical Society Award in Photochemistry.