Dr. Nako Nakatsuka
Oct 21, 2021

Alumna Nako Nakatsuka (PhD '17 Andrews/P Weiss Groups), a senior scientist at ETH Zürich, is profiled on the university's website. 

Research image
Oct 20, 2021
Professor Abigail Doyle and PhD students Samuel Newman-Stonebraker and Julia Borowski are part of a team to introduce a workflow that allows scientists to predict phosphine ligand reactivity on the basis of one structural parameter. 
C&B Logo
Oct 15, 2021
The department is seeking outstanding candidates for tenure-track or tenured faculty positions at the level of Assistant, Associate, and Full Professor. 
Professor Abigail Doyle
Oct 15, 2021
At a small reception on September 24, 2021, we welcomed Professor Abigail Doyle to UCLA and celebrated her appointment as the 4th holder of the Winstein Chair.
Green chemistry
Oct 15, 2021
UCLA SMACS receives an outstanding performance rating from the ACS, as well as a 2020-21 Green Chemistry Student Chapter Award.
Dr. Eric Scerri
Oct 14, 2021
UCLA chemistry lecturer and author Eric Scerri was recently interviewed by the founder of ChemTalk, a new non-profit organization that aims to promote chemistry. 
Carlos Gonzalez-Figueroa
Oct 14, 2021
BMSB PhD student Carlos Gonzalez-Figueroa (Grace Xiao lab, IBP) is awarded the 2021-22 UCLA Department of Integrative Biology & Physiology Hyde Fellowship.
Oct 12, 2021
Graduate student Rachel Knapp (Garg group) has been selected as one of the four winners of the 2021 Alfred R Bader Award for Student Innovation. 
Professor Richard Dickerson
Oct 6, 2021
We are pleased to honor UCLA biochemist Emeritus Professor Richard Dickerson, a giant in structural biology, who turned 90 on October 8, 2021.
Professor Shimon Weiss
Oct 6, 2021
Professor Shimon Weiss wins Biophysical Society's Kazuhiko Kinosita Award in Single-Molecule Biophysics for trailblazing contributions to the field of single-molecule fluorescence detection biophysics.  
Professor Richard Kaner
Oct 6, 2021
Professor Richard Kaner has been selected to receive the Qian Baojun Fiber Award (Distinguished Achievement) for his "pioneering work of conducting organic fibers especially conducting polyaniline nanofibers.”
Professor Keriann Backus
Oct 6, 2021
Professor Keriann Backus receives prestigious $1.5 million New Innovator Award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) High-Risk, High-Reward Research program.  
Backus received the a
Professor Ken Houk
Oct 1, 2021
Professor Ken Houk has been named winner of the prestigious 2021 Foresight Institute Feynman Prize for Theory in nanotechnology.  
NSF logo
Sep 30, 2021
Professor Abigail Doyle and alum Northeastern Assistant Professor Steven Lopez (PhD ’15, Houk) are co-PIs on the new $15M NSF Institute for Data-Driven Dynamical Design.
Audrey Fowler
Sep 28, 2021
Graduate students Weixian Deng, Yi Xiao "Sean" Jiang, Maria Flores, Carter Lantz, and Logan Richards have been selected as 2021-2022 Fowler Fellows.
Professor Anastassia Alexandrova
Sep 28, 2021
Professor Anastassia Alexandrova has been selected to receive the prestigious Max Planck-Humboldt Medal, which honors extraordinary scientists outside Germany with outstanding future potential.
Professor Abigail Doyle
Sep 27, 2021
Professor Abigail Doyle wins the ACS EJ Corey award for her outstanding original and insightful contributions to organic synthesis.
Professor Richard Kaner
Sep 27, 2021
Professor Richard Kaner wins the ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science in recognition of his outstanding achievements in the science or technology of plastics, coatings, polymer composites, adhesives, and related fields.  
Professor Justin Caram
Sep 22, 2021
Professor Justin Caram will play a key role in the development of the new CNSI Quantum Biology Center at UCLA, where students and early-career researchers will be trained, and interdisciplinary research collaborations will be fostered. 
Research image
Sep 17, 2021
A UCLA-led team of engineers and chemists take a major step forward in the development of microbial fuel cells - a technology that utilizes natural bacteria to extract electrons from organic matter in wastewater to generate electrical currents. 
M. Frederick Hawthorne Headshot
Sep 13, 2021

Hawthorne’s work was groundbreaking in the sciences. A true chemistry pioneer, his work can be seen in every inorganic chemistry textbook today.

Tom Mason
Sep 3, 2021
Professor Thomas Mason and graduate student Tianren Yu have designed and lithographically created novel lock-and-key colloidal polymers.
Dr. Myung Ki "Mike" Hong
Sep 1, 2021

We are sad to report that long-time supporter and alumnus Dr. Myung Ki “Mike” Hong ‘59 passed away on August 18, 2021 at the age of 87.

Aug 31, 2021
PhD alums Elias Picazo and Marco Messina are chosen for the ASBMB’s inaugural 2021 cohort for the MOSAIC program.
Professor Ken Houk
Aug 24, 2021
Distinguished Research Professor Kendall Houk receives the 2021 Roger Adams Award in Organic Chemistry, one of the most important awards given by the ACS.