Mar 12, 2020
Rachana Jayaraman receiving her book
Undergraduate student Rachana Jayaraman is the winner of the 2018-19 Chem14A/B Excellence in Chemistry Book Award.
A Computational and Systems Biology major, Rachana was presented the award by Dr. Laurence Lavelle at the beginning of his Chem 14A class on March 4, 2020.
The Chem 14A/B Excellence in Chemistry Book Award was created in 2004 by Lavelle and he continues to organize and fund it. The award gives recognition to the student with the highest combined Chem 14A and Chem 14B score in Lavelle's classes and awards the student with a book of their choice. The award is presented during March of the year after the students complete the two classes. Rachana’s outstanding achievement in Chem 14A and 14B is also reflected in her 3.98 UCLA GPA.
Dr. Laurence Lavelle presenting the award to Rachana Jayaraman on March 4, 2020.
More photos taken and posted by students can be viewed on Lavelle’s Chemistry Community forum here.
List of Past Award Recipients:
2004-2005 Kara Lau
2005-2006 Justin Zaghi
2006-2007 Claire Sampankanpanich
2007-2008 Phillip Pham
2008-2009 Ke-Huan Chow
2009-2010 Sona Parikh
2010-2011 Yu Lim
2011-2012 Derrick Huang
2012-2013 Michael Veshkini
2013-2014 Arjun Sarkar & Iris Cong 
2014-2015 Niharika Reddy
2015-2016 Ronald Yang
2016-2017 Rochelle Ellison & Alex Chen
2017-2018 Michelle Nguyen
2018-2019 Rachana Jayaraman
Penny Jennings, UCLA Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry,