Nov 10, 2015
Departmental Awards
A photo gallery of the 2015 Departmental Awards Ceremony and a list of the award recipients is now available online.                       
The annual Departmental Awards Ceremony was held at the CNSI auditorium on Friday, November 6th. In addition to recognizing the efforts of our accomplished students and faculty, we had an opportunity to celebrate our department's excellence in teaching and research. 
Photos from the ceremony and reception can be viewed here.
The award recipients are listed below. Congratulations to all the winners!

Presented by Joseph Rudnick, Dean, Physical Sciences; Catherine Clarke, Vice Chair for Undergraduate Education; and Professor Yung-Ya Lin
Alumni Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship
Logan Grimaud
Alpha Chi Sigma (AXE) Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship
Joanna Marshall
Whitcome Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship
Hamilton Trinh & Liujie Wang
Daniel Kivelson Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship
Hsin-Ti Lin
Raymond & Dorothy Wilson Research Fellowship
Joshua Jeong, Paul Robinson, Scott Shepard, & Guan Zhou Zhu
Gold Family Foundation Award
Nanetta Pon
Hosmer Stone Prize
Michael Guanzhou Lin, Andrew Liu, & Nikhil Dipak Shah
Presented by Professor William Gelbart, Chemistry Graduate Advisor, and Professor Robert Clubb, BMSB Graduate Advisor 
Christopher Foote Fellows
Presented by Robin Garrell, Vice Provost and Dean, Graduate Division
Jessica Grandner, Nicholas Weires, and Jesus Moreno
Excellence in Second Year Academics and Research
Presented by Professor James Bowie, Biochemistry Vice Chair for Academic Personnel
Emma Baker, Cheng-Wei Lin, Hui (Sue) Tsui, & Zhongyue Yang
Hanson-Dow Awards
Presented by Catherine Clarke, Vice Chair for Undergraduate Education
Dimitri Bikos, Alexander Bradley,Tsz Mei Cheung, Brett Cory, Christopher Karaba, Nako Nakatsuka, Sayoni Ray, Tejas Shah, Bryan SimmonsChencai Wang
Ralph & Charlene Bauer Research Award
Zhaoyang Lin
Faculty Award for Innovation in Inorganic Chemistry
Mark Abubekerov
Majeti-Alapati Fellowship
Liana Hie
George Gregory Research Award
John Cook
John M. Jordan Memorial Award
Megan Sjodt
Roberts A. Smith Research Award
Paul Opgenorth
Ernest F. Hare, Jr., Memorial Scholarship
Henry Chan
John Stauffer Fellowship
Michael Yeung
Hanson-Dow Award for Excellence in Teaching
Introduced & Presented by Professor Michael Jung
Dr. Sharon Neufeldt
The Herbert Newby McCoy Faculty Award
Introduced & Presented by Professor William Gelbart
Prof. Ken Houk & Prof. Neil Garg
The Herbert Newby McCoy Staff Award
Introduced & Presented by Professor William Gelbart
Dr. Anne Hong-Hermesdorf
The Department is extremely grateful for the generous financial contributions made to the following fellowship and award programs by our donors and alumni:
Ralph & Charlene Bauer Endowed Fellowship in Chemistry
Robert & Roberta Boschan
Chemistry Faculty for the 
Faculty Award for Innovation in Inorganic Chemistry
Christopher Foote Graduate Fellowship
Dr. Atsuko and Mr. Akira Fujimoto for the Roberts A. Smith 
Graduate Student Award for the Study of Biochemistry
George Gregory Fellowship
Gold Family Foundation
Hanson-Dow Award for Excellence in Teaching
Ernest F. Hare, Jr. Memorial Award 
John M. Jordan Memorial Award for Creative Scholarship
Margaret Kivelson
Steven & Pamela Kivelson
Valerie Kivelson
Majeti-Alapati Fellowship
Herbert Newby McCoy Award 
John Stauffer Fellowship in Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Estate of Hosmer Stone 
The Estate of Philip Whitcome
Raymond & Dorothy Wilson Endowment Fund 
Alpha Chi Sigma

Photos by Penny Jennings/UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry