Oct 4, 2013

Registration for the 2013 Seaborg Symposium & Medal Award Dinner is now available.  

The Symposium is free for everyone (registration required) and dinner ticket is $80.  Undergrads, grads, and postdocs can receive a complimentary ticket to the dinner by participating in the poster session or serving as a volunteer.

Registration & more information available at WWW.SEABORG.UCLA.EDU. Speaker, Undergrad/Grad/Postdoc Poster Session and Volunteer information is available below.

2013 Speakers:

Kendall N. Houk, Ph.D. (2013 Seaborg Medalist)
Professor of Chemistry, Saul Winstein Chair in Organic Chemistry, UC Los Angeles
A leading authority on theoretical and computational organic chemistry; Member of the National Academy of Sciences

David Baker, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry, University of Washington, HHMI Investigator
The world's leader in protein design; Member of the National Academy of Sciences

Carolyn Bertozzi, Ph.D.
T.Z. and Irmgard Chu Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology at UC Berkeley, HHMI Investigator, and Senior Faculty Scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
The pre-eminent chemical biologist; Member of the National Academy of Sciences

Robert H. Grubbs, Ph.D.
Victor and Elizabeth Atkins Professor of Chemistry, California Institute of Technology
2005 Nobel Prize for the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis; Member of the National Academy of Sciences
Bill Jorgensen, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry, Yale University
A leader of computational chemistry and developer of codes for drug discovery; Member of the National Academy of Sciences
Paul Wender,  Ph.D.
Bergstrom Professor of Chemistry, Stanford University
A leader of synthetic organic chemistry and drug design; Member of the National Academy of Sciences
Undergraduate & Graduate/Postdoc Poster Session
The Seaborg Symposium Poster Session will take place on Saturday, October 26, 2013, from 12:00 pm to 1:30 pm and from 3:40 pm to 4:00 pm in the lobby of the California Nanosystems Institute (CNSI). In addition to attending the symposium, poster session participants and a guest are invited to attend, at no charge, the evening banquet and awards ceremony honoring Professor Ken Houk.
Important Things To Know:
-Two divisions: Undergraduate Chemistry & Graduate/Postdoc Chemistry
-Prizes for both divisions: (1st- $700, 2nd- $500, 3rd- $300)
-Abstract submissions are due by Friday, October 18, 2013
-300 words or less
-Poster size limited to 4'x4'
-Setup will take place at 11:00 a.m. in the CNSI lobby
-You are responsible for printing your poster and bringing it to the symposium
-We will provide you with a 4'x4' board, an easel, and push pins
-Limit of 40 posters
-Joint submissions will be accepted (Prizes will be shared if a joint submission wins)
-Categories: Undergraduate Chemistry & Graduate Chemistry
***Submit your abstract here!***
If your abstract is accepted, you will automatically be registered for the evening banquet and award ceremony free of charge.
Undergraduate, Graduate & Postdoc Volunteers
-All student and postdoc volunteers will automatically be registered for the evening banquet and award ceremony free of charge.
-Please contact Jin Lee (jinlee@chem.ucla.edu) if you would like to volunteer.