Prof. James Bowie
Aug 9, 2016
Professor and Vice Chair James Bowie has been named the recipient of the 2017 Anatrace Membrane Protein Award by the Biophysical Society (BPS). 
Prof. Yi Tang
Aug 8, 2016
Professor Yi Tang has been selected as the recipient of the Mr and Mrs Sun Chan Memorial Award in Organic Chemistry. 
Dr. Elena Grintvenich
Aug 1, 2016
The discovery by Elena Grintsevich, Emil Reisler, and their collaborators from the University of Texas, was recently featured in Nature Cell Biology
UC-HBCU logo
Jul 29, 2016
This summer, six students from three Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) will contribute to UCLA research projects. 
Toasting Prof. Richard Weiss and Dr. Jane Strouse
Jul 28, 2016
Members of the department and the UCLA community gathered to celebrate the retirement of biochemistry professor Richard Weiss and MIC director Jane Strouse.
Prof. Jorge Torres
Jul 28, 2016
To conclude the Faculty Spotlight series of our newly tenured faculty (Bouchard, Quinlan & Torres), this week's feature focuses on Professor Jorge Torres.
UCLA Chemistry and Biochemistry Logo
Jul 26, 2016
Professors Jim Bowie, Patrick Harran and Yung-Ya Lin have agreed to serve as the new Vice Chairs of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
Prof. Craig Merlic
Jul 25, 2016
Craig Merlic, head of the University of California Center for Laboratory Safety (UCCLS), led the investigation of a lab explosion at the University of Hawai’i. 
Prof. Yves Rubin
Jul 22, 2016
The significant invention by Yves Rubin & coworkers was recently reported in the first issue of Chem, a new journal published by Cell Press.
Prof. Margot Quinlan
Jul 22, 2016
The second in our Faculty Spotlight series of newly tenured faculty (Bouchard, Quinlan & Torres), this week's feature focuses on Professor Margot Quinlan.
Students using machines at MIC
Jul 21, 2016
In the coming weeks we will be posting a series of articles about the many changes happening at the UCLA Molecular Instrumentation Center (MIC).
Lecture Hall CS76
Jul 21, 2016
After decades of heavy use, UCLA’s Court of Sciences lecture halls, otherwise known as CS76, CS50 and CS24, are now undergoing major renovations.
Prof. James Liao
Jul 19, 2016
Professor James Liao has been appointed the 11th president of Academia Sinica, Taiwan's collection of national laboratories. 
Prof. Richard Kaner
Jul 19, 2016
Professor Richard Kaner is one of 57 distinguished members of the American Chemical Society (ACS) who have been named as 2016 ACS Fellows.
Prof. Louis Brouchard
Jul 15, 2016
To honor our three newly tenured faculty we will feature a profile of our new associate professors each week, starting with Professor Louis Bouchard.
Chair Prof. Cathy Clarke toasts newly tenured faculty
Jul 15, 2016
Members of the department gathered to celebrate the recent promotion and tenure of Professors Louis Bouchard, Margot Quinlan and Jorge Torres.
Carly Ferguson (former CMB trainee)
Jul 14, 2016
NIH has renewed the innovative CMB Training Program that supports PhD students in the biomedical sciences including those in the BMSB and Chemistry programs.
Atkinson and West
Jul 13, 2016
The first of the Daniel Atkinson & Charles West Prizes in Metabolic Biochemistry were presented to four biochemistry students at commencement ceremonies in June.
Min Woo Kim
Jul 12, 2016
Min Woo (Mitchell) Kim (’16) (Courey group) received the awards for his service to the community and his undergraduate research work.
Dr. Richard Buller
Jul 11, 2016
Video and select photos from the 2016 Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry Commencement Ceremony are now available for viewing.
William Gelbart
Jul 8, 2016
The American Chemical Society (ACS) paid tribute to the accomplishments of Professor William Gelbart in a special issue of The Journal of Physical Chemistry.
Piriya Wongkongkathep
Jul 8, 2016
Former biochemistry graduate student Piriya “Pete” Wongkongkathep received a Best Student Paper award from the International Journal of Mass Spectrometry (IJMS).
research image
Jul 7, 2016
Graduate student Marco Messina (advised by Maynard & Spokoyny) & postdoc Jon Axtell (Spokoyny group) led the team whose research was featured.
Emma Baker
Jul 7, 2016
Graduate student Emma Baker (Garg group) is one of eight women selected to receive the ACS Women Chemists Committee’s inaugural Merck Research Award.
Paul Weiss
Jun 24, 2016

Weiss has been awarded a research grant by the National Academies Keck Futures Initiative to support innovative interdisciplinary projects related to art and science, engineering and medicine frontier collaborations.