Dec 13, 2016
Atkinson West

Help us permanently endow the Atkinson/West fund for graduate and undergraduate students. 

The first of the Daniel Atkinson & Charles West Prizes in Metabolic Biochemistry were presented to four biochemistry students at commencement ceremonies in June.
These awards were established to honor two UCLA chemistry faculty who were largely responsible for the development of biochemistry within the department. Daniel Atkinson and Charles West arrived at UCLA in 1952 and joined Max Dunn, who at that time was the only biochemist in the department. By the time they retired in the early 1990s, there were 18 biochemistry faculty members, and Atkinson and West had played major roles in recruiting most of them!
Both Atkinson and West were exceptionally valued by their faculty colleagues, the students in their laboratories, by the national and international research communities, and by the multitude of undergraduates they taught. These awards were inaugurated to honor the significant contributions of both men to research, education, and the strength of the UCLA academic community.
Many thanks to the following former students & colleagues of Atkinson & West whose generous donations made these initial awards possible:
Audree Fowler (BS 1956; PhD 1963)
Kate Murashige (PhD 1962)
Atsuko Fujimoto (PhD 1963)
Margaret Holzer (PhD 1964)
John Brady (BS 1976; PhD 1983)
Eric Bean (BS 1977;PhD 1982) 
Gloria Turner (Research Staff, 1978-2010) 
Jane Shen-Miller (Research Chemist, 1979-84)
Ed Kamemoto (PhD 1982)
Bruce Morimoto (BS 1984; PhD 1988)
Irena Mendez (postdoc, 1986-1990)
Augusto Lois (PhD 1988)
Anne Ehret (PhD 1970)
As well as numerous members of the Chemistry and Biochemistry faculty
We would now like to permanently endow the Atkinson/West fund to provide not only awards but also small research fellowships for biochemistry undergraduates and graduate students. Towards this goal, we have already been able to raise over $24,000. If we can raise an additional $26,000, we have a commitment from the department to match the contributions dollar for dollar to give us the minimum $100,000 to establish a permanently endowed fund to honor Dan and Charlie.
Contributions to the fund can be made by check payable to the "UCLA Foundation" with "Atkinson/West Fund - Chair's Discretionary" in the memo line and mailed to Professor Steven Clarke, UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, 607 Charles E. Young Drive East, Los Angeles, CA 90095.
Questions about the fund may be directed to Steven Clarke,, 310-825-8754. This fund is also described on the departmental web page.
From left - graduate student recipients of the Daniel E. Atkinson and Charles A West Dissertation Awards Megan Sjodt with her thesis advisor Prof. Robert Clubb and Andrea Hadjikyriacou with her thesis advisor Prof. Steven Clarke. Undergraduate recipients of the Daniel E. Atkinson & Charles E. West Biochemistry Undergraduate Prize in Metabolic Biochemistry Hei Tong "Nikki" Lam with her research advisor Prof. and Chair Catherine Clarke and Thao Luong who conducted research in Prof. Carla Koehler's group before graduating.